1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DNS server not responding and default gateway is not available

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mno1794, Sep 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mno1794

    mno1794 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,
    I have been having some trouble with my internet for awhile now. It fine one second and than it will get really slow and eventually stop working. When I troubleshoot to see what the problem is it either gives me DNS server is not responding or default gateway is not available, sometimes it will give me both. It says it fixes the default gateway problem but it will show up again 5 minutes later. If someone could help me that would be awesome :)

    Here is my ipconfig /all
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\MNO>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MNO-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 9C-B7-0D-FD-26-20
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.9(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 28, 2012 10:15:02 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 28, 2012 11:15:19 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : dt-hdi.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-60-00-EA-E2-AD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{898DED20-57AE-4976-82C4-504628310F87}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:1c4f:8d3:b34f:dcb0(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c4f:8d3:b34f:dcb0%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\MNO>
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    You've shown a wireless connection. Does this represent an OK time or a problem time?

    Do you get the same problems when connected to the router by ethernet?

    If you have separate modem and router do you get the same problem when the PC is connected directly to the modem?
     
  3. mno1794

    mno1794 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    The wireless connection is showing when is having a problem. I haven't tried connecting by the ethernet because the location of the computer is not easy to access it that way. Also my modem and router are not separate.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
     
  5. mno1794

    mno1794 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Here is the screen shot
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    Looks like a good signal.

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver. Assuming this is a PCI card get the driver from the adapter manufacturer's web site. If you already have the latest correct driver reinstall it anyhow in case the installed instance is corrupted. (Strange that the adapter's manufacturer is not shown; is this some "no name" card?)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1070766

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice