1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Do I have to change the cooler when I put a different motherboard?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tony200XP, Aug 10, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tony200XP

    tony200XP Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Do I have to change the cooler when I am replacing my motherboard from an Intel motherboard to an AMD one?
     
  2. Dougx789

    Dougx789

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Presuming you mean CPU cooler -

    It depends which brackets you have. Most CPU coolers will come with multiple brackets for different sockets or adjustable brackets.


    Don't forget you will also need to clean the cooler with alcohol (minimum 91%) and apply new thermal paste.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
  3. tony200XP

    tony200XP Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    My cooler is from Intel and I want to change my board to Gigabyte FM2.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,690
    First Name:
    Rob
    Then yes, you will need a new heatsink. Most new CPU's come with a heatsink.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,002
    First Name:
    Frank
    I assume your question is associated with this other active thread of yours:

    http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/1153198-socket.html

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. tony200XP

    tony200XP Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    68
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,690
    First Name:
    Rob
    So have you figured out what your current hardware is and if this new hardware you intend to buy is better than what you have? You could probably have stayed in that thread and asked all your questions there, keeps a much nicer flow.
     
  8. tony200XP

    tony200XP Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    What's your problem? I have that computer since late 2013. It's already good enough, but I want to make videos. Don't ask again for my hardware specs please! They are posted on an older thread of mine's and I have Intel Pentium Inside 2,9 GHz not x86 processor like a program wrote on desktop(not Computer's properties).
     
  9. tony200XP

    tony200XP Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks to Doug for non-insistent comments.
     
  10. tony200XP

    tony200XP Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    I'm not fool Rob! I know how to compare hardware!
     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,852
    User has been banned permanently so this thread is closed.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1153317

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice