1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Do I have WiFi?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tequila454, Sep 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tequila454

    Tequila454 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    One of my machines is a new Toshiba satellite 2.0GB 512ram bla, bla, bla you know the drill. Anyway when I bought it I saw on the card with all the specs that it didn't say Wireless, but once I opened it all up I found an OFF ON switch a light and what the documentation says is a wireless connection. Now I've looked in the device manager and didn't see anything but i could have missed it.

    I know it has the port I just don't know if it has the guts behind the port or not. What do I need to look for to see if it is infact a WORKing port or not?

    Thanks in advance!

    -Cody
     
  2. active95

    active95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,276
    There are 2 places to look and see if you have indeed WiFi.
    1. Right click on My Network Places and choose Properties. In the new window that you have check out the network device ( see if there is a mention about Wi-Fi)
    2. In the system tray , should have an icon which would indicate wireless connection .
    All this applies to Windows XP. If you run something else , need to post it.
    HTH
     
  3. Tequila454

    Tequila454 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Ok, so it doesn't look like it has the guts. I guess they toss the physical pieces in there just because it's cheeper to build a bunch of different models with the same frame.

    Thanks for the help :)
     
  4. Tequila454

    Tequila454 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Any ideas on what it might be missing? i.e. just software or firmware???
     
  5. active95

    active95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,276
    i belive is missing hardware ( as in pcmcia card or chipset..) But all is not lost.. get a wireless card and you're ready to go ( since cards are cheap this days , it should be a snap )
    HTH
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167010

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice