1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Do I need a modum driver update?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hotskates, Oct 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    My modem is a "Conexant SoftK56 PCI Modem(M)

    My computer is 3 yrs. old and I"ve never downloaded an updated driver for my modem. Is there such a thing and if so , where would I get it??

    Thanks.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,849
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yes there is such a thing, but if it broke then don't try fixing it.

    Are you having modem/connection problems?
     
  3. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    My problem is speed. When I first went online with our local internet provider, my speed was pretty good (going from page to page, that is) The last 3-4 mo. my internet speed is down to a crawl. My provider even "upgraded" my service to what they called "dial-up broadband" which was supposed to speed things up by 3 times. Things have only gotten slower though and I'm trying to avoid the $50.00 per month broadband by trying to speed things up on my own first.
     
  4. skyman

    skyman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,234
    If you have a dial up modem you will not be able to speed things up unless your ISP speeds things up...

    Dial up depends on the ISP and your phone lines and there is not much you can do to get faster internet service with a dial up...
     
  5. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    Thats exactly what "I FIgured">>> Broadband, here I come!!!!!!
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,416
    First Name:
    Frank
    Hotskates:

    Go with broadband cable or DSL. You'll never go back to 56K. I only use 56K for a backup when broadband service goes down.


    Frank's Windows 95/98 Tips
     
  7. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    Thanks flavalee - Is one faster than the other?
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,416
    First Name:
    Frank
  9. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    Thanks for the help. By the way, your website was very interesting and helpful. (I have a HP 6645C) I'm going to review the Intel chipset portion and see if it will help me obtain the updates. I have tried in the past to download the upgrades from Intel's website but have had no luck at all, so I gave up.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171973

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice