1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

do I need adobe active x

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by kalabula, Jul 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kalabula

    kalabula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    I am not sure why mu computer is running slower then usual and I was going to clean up some clutter.

    Whats adobe flash player active x and do I need it?
     
  2. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,699
    Adobe Flash Active X is the Flash player plugin for Internet Explorer. I have no idea how many websites/pages require flash to display properly. Many that have animated content will need it but some won't.

    If you want to uninstall it you need to use the uninstaller from the Adobe site (read the instructions carefully, particularly the note for IE users!); http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=tn_14157&sliceId=1 If your current flash version is older than 9.0.124.0 you should get rid of it anyway. Note that the uninstaller also removes the flash player plugin from any other browsers you have installed (Firefox, Opera etc.) so that they will no longer be able to display flash content.

    If you do uninstall it and find you can't use sites that you need, you can reinstall the IE version from here;http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/static/styx/English.html and the non Active X version from here; http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash There is a beta version 10 available but I wouldn't recommend that you try that yet.

    I doubt very much that removing flash will save very much space. Have you used Windows built in 'Disk Cleanup' tool?
     
  3. kalabula

    kalabula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    Ya I was thinking that maybe I will just use the windows cleanup tool instead.
     
  4. kalabula

    kalabula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    btw whats hibernation file cleaner? Its the biggest thing at 2gb in my cleanup window. But its the only thing that isn't checked off by defualt.
     
  5. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,699
  6. kalabula

    kalabula Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    thank you!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/727666