Do I need PCI Express x16 2

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

EnfoToad

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
588
I am going to be building a computer. The graphics card that I have planned is:

EVGA 512-P3-N845-AR GeForce 8800GTS (G92) KO 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Does the motherboard need a PCI Express x16 2 slot? Will this card work in a PCI Express x16?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
1,321
I am going to be building a computer. The graphics card that I have planned is:

EVGA 512-P3-N845-AR GeForce 8800GTS (G92) KO 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Does the motherboard need a PCI Express x16 2 slot? Will this card work in a PCI Express x16?
All PCI-E 2.0 cards will work in PCI-E x16 slots.
 

EnfoToad

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
588
Will I get the full features if I do not use a 2.0 PCI E slot?

What is the difference between the regular and 2nd version?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
1,321
Will I get the full features if I do not use a 2.0 PCI E slot?

What is the difference between the regular and 2nd version?
The only difference between PCI-E and PCI-E 2.0 is the bandwidth limit (how much information can pass through at a given time). PCI-Es original limit was 2.5GB/second and PCI-E 2.0 just doubles the limit to 5GB/second.
So even if you had a PCI-E 2.0 slot, you would see very little increase in performance, if at all, expecially with a 256-bit video card.
 

EnfoToad

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
588
If I overclock the GPU will it be able to work on a PCI Express x16?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
1,321
If I overclock the GPU will it be able to work on a PCI Express x16?
Yes it will. Most manufacters now sell pro-OC'd video cards for a little more money. I find the pre-OC'd cards are a better value because you know the core is solid enough for some OC'ing.
 

EnfoToad

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
588
The one I have listed is a EVGA "Knock Out" Edition, overclocked at 678MHz

I sent you a private message....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top