1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Do I repair or buy a new MacBook?

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by madeleine23, Sep 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. madeleine23

madeleine23 Thread Starter

Hi,

I have a two year old MacBook Air (13") which now has bad liquid damage after I stupidly used it while cooking two nights ago. I have been quoted as NZ$899+VAT to replace the logic board/fix it. So after GST I may swell buy a brand new one as it would be only an extra hundred or two more or less. But I have a few questions...

1. Is this NZ$899+GST cost about right to replace a logic board? I am asking around different places for repair quotes. I have no insurance on it by the way. It seems like a hell of a lot of money thats all, but I have no knowledge of this area!

2. If I do end up buying a brand new one, does that mean I lose all the documents and packages on my broken laptop? I suppose I would with documents not on iCloud but what about packages like Microsoft Word/Excel etc which I bought about a year ago?

3. If I try sell the broken one for parts, can I somehow delete all my personal documents and data (stored passwords etc) beforehand or am I safer to just keep it/chuck it? I can't turn it back on so I'm not sure if this is possible but other people seem to do it...?

4. What would you do in my situation?

Thank you!

M x

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    Not sure how much a new Air would be in your country , i'm in UK
    The logic board is probably one of the more expensive parts of the machine