Do I use DDR-RAM or SD-RAM or something else?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Deon555

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
134
Hi.

I'm looking at upgrading this bomb of a computer to Vista-standards. My specs are currently Celeron @ 1.7GHz, 256MB RAM, 20GB HDD.

I'll need a much larger Hard drive (since mine is around 98% full now) and more ram (lots more), but I don't know if I'm meant to buy DDR-RAM or SD-RAM. My tech did tell me aages ago... but I can't remember :(

Anyway to tell from the outside?


Thanks,

-D
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,268
You need to provide your exact motherboard and we can tell you OR another way is to go to crucial, corsair, or kingstons site and input your motherboard. It will show you compatible ram.
 

Deon555

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
134
Your ASUS P4B533-VM specifications:

Currently installed memory:

256 MB | EMPTY
DDR PC2100 |

Each memory slot can hold DDR PC2700,DDR PC3200,DDR PC4000 with a maximum of 1GB per slot.*

*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.


So that means DDR yes?


-D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Yep, that's DDR. Since you already have PC2100, that's the speed all the memory will run at unless you remove that one.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Bear in mind for Vista, it installs on a dvd player or burner and you do not mention that either.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
There are a bunch of CD's to install Vista, saw them on the MSDN site. I think Microsoft has decided that it might not want to limit it's sales possibilities. :)
 

Deon555

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
134
Awesome. Thanks for that.


I don't have a DVD drive.

Only int. CD-ROM and ext. CD-RW. I saw at the Vista Specs page ([1]) it says:

Optical Drive: CD-ROM drive

So i guess I should be right. Anything else I should know before upgrading?


-D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I suspect the CD version will only be offered for some of the Home versions, but I haven't seen any actual statement to that effect. I know the one on MSDN is the "universal" install that will install all the versions.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top