1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Do you have ClearType enabled for Windows?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Gary King, Sep 20, 2004.

?

Do you have ClearType enabled for Windows?

  1. Yes

    9 vote(s)
    64.3%
  2. No

    5 vote(s)
    35.7%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gary King

    Gary King Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Do you have ClearType enabled for Windows? This is a text feature that enables smoothing out the edges of text, typically to make text easier to read.
     
  2. zmaster

    zmaster

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    359
    i can't say i had ever heard of it before. i use standard. I can see my text fine though
     
  3. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I have it, but it's only really useful with lcd monitors as far as I know.
     
  4. FuzzyWuzzy

    FuzzyWuzzy

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    753
    i dont like it, it makes the words too bold and thick.
     
  5. Gary King

    Gary King Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Anyone else?
     
  6. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
  7. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
  8. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,949
    My monitor (a crt) don't like it. The words turn brownish around the edges.
     
  9. Deathblow

    Deathblow

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,826
    I have a LCD, everything is crystal clear without it, so I don't use it.
     
  10. Grimy

    Grimy

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    I tried it and didn't like it because it caused some graphics to look a little strange. I have a CRT monitor.
     
  11. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    I use it on my crt and it works fine for me.
     
  12. Deathblow

    Deathblow

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,826
  13. Gary King

    Gary King Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    That's why you should configure it.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/276316

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice