1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Do you keep physical media?

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Twiki, Feb 14, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Twiki

    Twiki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    First Name:
    William
    I have a fear of not having any digital access in the future for whatever reason. Also I like to collect things. I have over 1100 movie DVDs and 94 TV seasons and counting though it's getting a bit scarce (without buying retail). They are mostly from bargain bins, pawn shops and thrift stores.

    I bought a NOS HDD for a bargain because it's no longer under manufacturer warranty. My main HDD is exact the same models so I know how good they are. They are both dated 2012. My main HDD has been in 5 builds and going strong. :cool:

    I used the new HDD to store all my fav DVD movies as some DVDs are old and gone bad. I lost a few already. I manages to get over 700 on the HDD. The TV season DVDs are on their own but they in good shape. I guess they're played once or twice and they're done with it. The movie DVDs are well used (and abused). The drive has some bytes left so I stored some files and music. It is not yet full.

    By the way, the movie DVDs are on spindles because the cases will take up a lot of room and the TV seasons are still in their boxes.
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,920
    First Name:
    Jay
    How are you storing the DVDs and 94TV seasons on a HDD ???
    Are they copy protected and are you ripping them to a video file ???
     
  3. Twiki

    Twiki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    First Name:
    William
    I said I have over 700 DVDs on the drive and digitized. I used Handbrake.
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,920
    First Name:
    Jay
    I use Handbrake and constant framerate (Lipsync) to MP4 ????
    Can your TV play from a USB ???
     
  5. Twiki

    Twiki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    First Name:
    William
    No, I watch em on my PC. Almost all the files are MKV but a few are MP4.
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,920
    First Name:
    Jay
    Yes ... I archive to DVDs for a record, But only because it's always been done this way ...
    and some can only play a DVD.
    But DVDs are obsolete ... (low definition, and fragile)
    Newer TVs can play from a USB port in HD and WS.
     
  7. Twiki

    Twiki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    First Name:
    William
    true they are old but so am I. :p
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,393
    First Name:
    Allan
    I would make at least one copy from the existing HDD onto another HDD, if the first drive fails you would lose the lot.
     
  9. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    5,289
    First Name:
    John
    Just a comment: DVD media fails over time, but in percentages, a hard drive fails and you've lost it all, 100% at that instant. And with no backup of that hard drive, you really are out of luck.

    I don't copy movies because my local Library and it's borrow connections to other Libraries in my state has a constant supply I can choose from. I let them warehouse the movies ;)

    Software I've downloaded and burned to optical media is backed up to a hard drive.
    Software I've bought on optical media is more durable. I haven't seen any degrade.
    Periodically, I throw away what I know I'll never use again.

    The hard drive space wasters are videos and movies.
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,920
    First Name:
    Jay
    Pazera can batch convert MKV > MP4
    And as managed said ....
    Any file you wouldn't mind loosing .... is a file you only have one copy of.

    I make my own externals, you don't know what quality HDD comes in a premade ...
    And you can't get to the HDD in a premade without destroying the warranty.

    I get a really good HDD (5 yr warranty) and an enclosure
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  11. Twiki

    Twiki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    First Name:
    William
    The hard drive I have the movies (and other files) on is not running. I have it in the removable caddy and it has an on/off switch. It stays off till I want to use it.

    Anyway it's not a big deal. I can lose lots of movies I won't miss too much but I have quite a few that's never shown on TV (at least in my area). I started with my most favs then go over again for the next favs and then again. I thought I'd run out of space but I didn't.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,920
    First Name:
    Jay
    I agree
    This enclosure is the only one I can find with a front panel power switch.
    Hiding a power switch in the back never made any sense to me.
    I only use verbatim DVDs for archive purposes, they have to be ordered.
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/reviews/dvd-media.htm

    I watched a TV show from the national archive about CD/DVD archival life.
    Never buy off the shelf brands ... some last .. some die really early.
    Because you don't know who the CD/DVD lowest cost subcontractor was ...
    and they are not required to tell you how they were made.

    Verbatim Specifies how their CD/DVDs are made.
    I inkjet on mine .. hub printable.
    I buy and burn in the 100s .... I'm well over 99% Write reliability
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  13. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,920
    First Name:
    Jay
  14. Twiki

    Twiki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    55
    First Name:
    William
  15. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,920
    First Name:
    Jay
    In your Tower ??? ..... My ole XP had 2 similar ... I sure miss it.
    The newer USB speeds are about the same as SATA.

    I'm thinking that soon, HDDs will be obsolete.
    The price of SSDs seems to be dropping like a rock, and the size is going up.

    These are faster than a HDD, no external power is required ...
    and the durability/life is approaching forever.
    But Remember .... You should still have Two/Twins

    250gig is what I use for my OS
     

    Attached Files:

    • 661.jpg
      661.jpg
      File size:
      136.8 KB
      Views:
      3
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1223114

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice