1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Do you need AMD dual core processor for this?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bergstein, Mar 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Do you need an AMD dual core processor for: simple tasks like internet browsing and downloading, playing simple games like the sims 2,watching dvd movies and burning dvd's and music files? My friend asked me about it, so decided to ask the tsg forum experts on this. and he's planning on networking another notebook wirelessly.but no heavy tasks or graphical activities.

    Would an amd Single athlon 64 processor up to the task?
     
  2. steveb1492

    steveb1492

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    337
    You do not need a dual core chip. Very few programs at this point take full advantage of the multiple cores. Before dual core chips came out, people were doing all of the tasks you listed fine with their single core chips.
     
  3. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    where do use dual core specifically?
     
  4. linskyjack

    linskyjack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22,813
    Processor intensive applications like video editing, sound editing, photo manipulation , CAD etc.
     
  5. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    does it favor high end games like fear,stalker:shadow of chernobyl,command and conquer 3? or would they run on single core as well?
    thanks again!
     
  6. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    I was doing all those things on an old AMD 32 bit CPU (single core too, of course) - I have rencently dropped in a dual core because the price was cheap.

    Today, AMD is selling Dual Core CPUs at $100.

    For a LOW-END system, I recommend no less than the AMD64 3200 (AM2 socket) = $75 - but if really tight - a Sempron 3200 will work ($48).

    AMD DUAL core:
    $ 79 = x2 3600 (1.9Ghz)
    $ 99 = x2 3800 (2.0Ghz) - recommended low-end - low-watt version
    $106 = x2 4200 (2.2ghz) 65 watt (wow, worth the extra $7 easily)
    $126 = x2 4600 (2.4ghz) 65 watt (wow, worth the extra $20 easily) BEST DEAL
     
  7. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    sorry for the "off topic" conversation
    just another question: is the highest single core amd slower than the lowest end amd dual core?

    and what is the fastest/highest "single core" amd and,
    what's the lowest "dual core" amd proc?
     
  8. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    anyone else?
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, dual core will speed up almost any system. You have to remember that Windows manages the threads, and will allocate the processor time to the core that isn't used. Unless you're running one single thread CPU intensive application, dual-core will give you a performance boost.
     
  10. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    appreciate the aid! so the highest "single core" amd is
    slower than the lowest end amd "dual" core, right?
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't know if you can make that generalization. A lot of factors would enter into the speed equation, including the FSB speed, the application mix, the amount of processor cache, etc.
     
  12. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    i see.just to be safe,purchase an Amd entry level dual core cpu for high end gaming?
     
  13. RoBe

    RoBe

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    high end gaming?

    if you want 'high-end' gaming you'll need a high-end graphics card too, but then make sure the mobo doesn't bottleneck the gpu either, and that the mobo is compatible with it all:p
     
  14. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
  15. bergstein

    bergstein Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    thanks for assisting dear moderators and fellow members.. i will research further regarding this.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/555219

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice