Do your remember the speed of your first PC?

bassfisher6522

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
3,250
Well it took some digging but finally found mine. My very first computer was an HP Pavilion XG843 OEM. It had an Intel Pentium II that was a single core, 400 mhz, with a 100 mhz bus speed. I still have it and it works.....it came with Windows Me that was upgraded to Windows XP.

My 2nd computer was another HP OEM.....HP Pavilion Media Center m8400f and AMD Athlon X2 6400+, dual core 3.2 ghz clock speed. That died on me in less than a year (my fault and long story).

That led me to do my first ever PC build. I bought a new mobo, an Asus M4N78 Pro that looked exactly like my HP OEM mobo, then got the same exact CPU - AMD Athlon 6400+, CPU cooler and then stripped the old HP and moved everything I could to the new case. I move the old HDD that had Vista on it and when I powered up.....it booted my OEM Vista OS right up. I couldn't believe it.
 

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,176
Amstrad CPC 464
CPU Zilog Z80
SPEED 4 MHz

Haha, but in terms of Windows machines, it was my first build... Pentium II
 

Johnny b

John
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,666
My first PC was a Gateway.
Other than it wasn't very reliable, about all I remember is that it was a Pentium3, 500mhz with 64 mb memory.
Only a CD reader ( not a writer )
To install a CD writer, I had to break the seal on the case side panel, thus ending my warranty according to the Gateway literature.
I added another 128 mb of memory that cost $175 on sale.
I hated that computer.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,212
My very first computer was a HP Pavilion 8160 tower which I purchased in August 1997 at "Best Buy" and cost $2,299.00 and came with:
Windows 95 OSR2
Intel Pentium 233 MHz processor
32 MB(16 MB x 2) EDO RAM
6 GB hard disk drive
CD-ROM disc drive
Floppy disk drive
56K dial-up modem
110W power supply

A HP 15" CRT monitor with external speakers cost another $399.00.

A HP DeskJet 694 printer cost another $299.00.

With sales tax, the entire system cost me a mind-boggling $3,200.00+. :eek:

-------------------------------------------------

When 2 Mbps high-speed cable came to my neighborhood in May 1999, I added a Linksys ethernet card to it.

I also overclocked the processor to 262 MHz and maxed it out with 128 MB(32 MB x 4) of RAM.

I also upgraded it to Windows 98 Second Edition.

-------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,994
A Packard Bell 486 with a whopping 4 MB of ram. Came with windows 3.11.
After that one, I started building my own systems.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
80
Gateway Essential 550. W98SE,550 Mhz Pentium III
64 upgraded to 256 MB memory
10 GB Hdd
Dial up modem, Floppy drive, CD player. CRT monitor.
STILL WORKS.
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
107,912
Leading Edge
8086
Dual speed, 4/8 MHz
Dual 360K floppies, no HDD!
Monochrome graphics.
Ran DOS 3.3, I believe.
I upgraded it by adding a huge 10MB HDD and controller card.
A friend gave me my first modem, 300 baud!
Also bought a CGA card and monitor. Very expensive, from what I recall ...

Since then, I've probably built PCs with just about every processor Intel put out, 286, 386, 386sx, 486, 486sx, PI, PII, PIII, etc. I think the only one I left out intentionally was the Celery -- I mean Celeron ...
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,994
Mark that is REALLY old. I still have at least one of those hard drives [way in the back of the parts closet] although I think it is a 100MB drive. It would probably still work IF you could find a controller card and a system in which to install the card/drive.
Hard drives from that era were very high quality, precision devices; not like what is mfg today.
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
107,912
There was a trick to formatting the HDD, too. Since each combination of drive/controller was different, you had to execute a command in debug to low-level format the drive so it would work with your controller. I have long since forgotten the syntax, but it was kind of a pain! But worth it not to have to do the floppy shuffle! ;-)

Those old Seagate 10/20MB MFM drives would go and go! You're right, they were much better quality!
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
220
'82-'83 Timex-Sinclair 1000, zilog z-80 3.25 mhz, 2k ram *I upgraded to 32 k!*, I used my kids *shaped like a log cabin* tape recorder for memory. Take a while but I could prolly find it. & the green screen monitor!
Also still have an Epson HX-20 laptop, has 4 line x 20 charactor screen, printer, & micro cassette memory.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,994
-G=C800:5
At the debug prompt IF I remember correctly. At least that was the command for a WD type drive.
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
107,912
Y'know? That does strike a familiar! ;-) As often as I used to do that, I ought to have remembered ...
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,994
It was written on a piece of tape attached to the drive; only way I could have remembered :giggle::giggle:
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top