1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Does A Dell Monitor Work With A Non-Dell Computer?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Gizzy, Sep 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gizzy

    Gizzy Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    3,832
    ok I have windows XP On Both Off my computers but my other one has a dell monitor and I've tried to get it to work so many times I got lucky I think twice first time it worked but then I shut it off for the night then I had a hard time to get it to work but I finally did and after that I can't get it to work it keeps saying to set it up through the disc drive I think I haven't turned it on for a bit I'll have to check it,
    but can anyone help with what I said?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,768
    Some do and some don't.

    I have seen there ads that say some of the models only work on the Dell PC's.
     
  4. Deathblow

    Deathblow

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,826
    Your kidding me? How Rude.
     
  5. stecks

    stecks

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    i had a dell and i used a run of the mill monitor for it and no problem...
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I have a Dell 19" LCD as my secondary monitor on this machine. Dell just OEM's their monitors, they're a standard monitor except for the Dell logo.
     
  7. brushmaster1

    brushmaster1

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,337
    I have two computers on this network; a Dell 2400 and a highly modified Gateway 450. The Dell is running a 19" KDS monitor, and the Gateway is running the Dell monitor... no problems.
     
  8. stecks

    stecks

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    320
    i just see a monitor as a universal type thing... if it works on one computer than it should work on another
     
  9. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,768
    No I am not kiiding you.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    hewee, I have never seen those ads, can you point us to a link? AFAIK, Dell monitors work with any system, I've never seen one that didn't.
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I can't imagine why they wouldn't work either. But you would be well advised to install the driver from the disk that came with it or obtain it from the Dell website. You want the monitor to be recognized as to model in Display properties to ensure proper refresh rates are selected.
     
  12. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,768
    John I get ads in the mail from Dell and I know I seen it where buy the Monitor you have a * and then you read what else it says and that was what it said. I looked at the last one I got but I can not find it but not all the ads I get are the same.
    I do think it was a CRT on a cheaper model and looking at there site most have LCD or flat Panels now.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/400136