1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Does my computer have a AGP or PCI video card?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PimpDaddy, Dec 18, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PimpDaddy

    PimpDaddy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Hewlett Packard Vectra Vl 6/400 series8.

    i have no idea!!! :(:(:(:(:(:(
     
  2. LadyLisa

    LadyLisa

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,995
    Right click on My Computer and click on System Information and it should tell you there.
     
  3. PimpDaddy

    PimpDaddy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    well it has the standard pci adaptor and then theres a cirrus logic adapter too. i use it. it plugs into the same kind of slot as the sound card or what not.

    as far as the system info....it doesnt specifically say use pci or agp.

    whats the difference???

    thanks
     
  4. LadyLisa

    LadyLisa

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,995
    AGP improves overall system performamce - isolating graphics operations on the AGP bus leaves the full PCI bus bandwith available for other operations such as I/O acesses and networking.

    AGP is designed specifically for point-to-point graphics components. It is physically separated from the PCI bus and it uses a separate connector.
     
  5. fireboy69

    fireboy69

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    According to HP's Web site and the tech manuals, you have an integrated AGP video, probably 4 meg. Only one of that series had more video memory, and it had 8 meg.
     
  6. PimpDaddy

    PimpDaddy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    well thats cool, but i uess i didnt really ask my question.
    so..if i buy like a .....32 or 64mb agp card it will work in my computer right?
     
  7. fireboy69

    fireboy69

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    You're going to have to open your case and check for sure, but everything I could find on your system listed only PCI and ISA slots...no AGP. Look on your motherboard and see if you have an AGP slot. It will be smaller than the other slots and usually brown in color, as opposed to white for PCI and Black for ISA.
     
  8. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Well... if you have an integrated AGP on your board you won't have an AGP slot to use with a new card. Unfortunately if you want to upgrade you will have to go with PCI. However, I don't know for sure. The easiest way to see if you have an AGP slot is pop off your cover and look inside. If you have AGP open you will see an empty (or used) slot that is smaller than half-length PCI and it is the first one at the very top and is brown. PCI should be all the ones underneith and they are a little longer and they are off-white sortof. If it is unused (since it has integrated AGP) it will also have a little sticker on the left end that you have to peel off saying basically it is the AGP slot and you have to take off the sticker for it to be used)

    [EDIT: opps... someone beat me to it.]
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62150

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice