Does reformating solve death blue screen problem?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JuJ

Hi, I am, like many other people here, having crashes for no apparent reasons (with the blue screen saying : A problem has been detected ans Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer...... ***Stop: 0x0000008E (0xc0000005..... etc. not important).

I am a real noob on computers and I can't understand anything from the solutions in other threads. I would just like to know if reformating my computer would, for sure, solve that problem (I prefer not losing everything on my hard drive).

Also if possible, anyone can tell me how reformating works please? :)

Thanks

Not to give you an answer that you will think is vague, but in reality the answer is maybe/possibly.. If the error codes you are getting on the blue screens are Windows or software related then yes it might.. But if they are hardware related (for instance if you have a bad video card) then no re-formatting won't solve the problem. I would research the issues first or let a repairman do so if you aren't comfortable doing so.. and by all means backup all files before doing any formatting.

JuJ

Okay thank you.

For my video card well its crap: Intel Integrated Chipset 128 mb, but i dont think it would be the cause of this problem.

And you said : If the error codes you are getting on the blue
screens are Windows or software related then yes it might..

What does a windows or software related error code look like, how can I know?