1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Does such a program exist?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by hmmmk, Apr 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hmmmk

    hmmmk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    I'm trying to link 3 remote computers to one computer to be able to simultaneously use a specific program (on that one computer). I don't want to "lock out" the one computer while this program is being accessed by one of the other two computers.
    Is there any application that will make this union a reality?
     
  2. flyeater

    flyeater

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,452
    You would need the program installed on each computer. Then depending upon the program would determine what you could do.
     
  3. hmmmk

    hmmmk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    All three computers need to access one database more specifically. Not a problem to install the one program on all three computers (have the license). Just how to all access the database & use/change information at the same time.
    Thanks!
     
  4. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    And the database is...? what kind?
     
  5. hmmmk

    hmmmk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    The program is "debtnet" & the database is somewhat of an extensive "address book" kind of database.
     
  6. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Then that would depend on DebtNet.
    You'll need to know if their databases are shareable, which would depend heavily on their software and not whether we could wing it or not.

    I can't find a place that makes something called "debtnet". Have you checked their web on this capability?
     
  7. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Spoke to soon. This looks like it: http://www.debtnet5.com/html/features.htm

    They are talking about *agency* use and *collector productivity tracking*, so I can't help but think that their databases would be shareable.

    If it's shareable, it should require only that you install the software, and then somehow tell each PC the path to the database you'll use.
     
  8. hmmmk

    hmmmk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Yep, that's it. It's supposed to be shareable (at least within the same building/network). How do I give the path to the other computers? Netmeeting, pcanywhere & remote desktop all lock out the main computer when trying to access from the others.
     
  9. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Nooooo. Basically, you need to have the computers networked with a router at very least, I would say.

    So...you don't have a server? Or what?
    I don't know how to give the path, but it should be safe to assume that...

    --the DB resides on a server (or someone's PC)
    --they all have the software installed
    --the other 2 open debtnet and they're either asked or must File-Open or something like that, and browse to the server/PC on which the DB resides

    Now, it might be easiest to just create a shortcut to that DB on the 2 other PCs. Then, hopefully, they can just double-click it and the application (debtnet) opens the DB.
     
  10. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Oh, duh.
    You said "three remote computers".

    Sorry.

    Are they in the same building/room?
     
  11. hmmmk

    hmmmk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Nope no server. The "office" crosses several states. The debtnet company will support program trouble, but not networking trouble.
     
  12. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Then I don't see how you could possibly do it.
    You need a LAN/WAN (whatever--I'm no hardware or network geek).

    My thinking then, is this:

    Do they have an export from the file menu? Perhaps users 2 and 3 could export to a file, email it (or upload it to a web), and user 1 imports into their DB. The problem comes when 2 people made transactions on the same record in one day. Perhaps you have some way you could divvy up the work. Do they have categories? Or salespeople?

    Any decent DB will let you export (and later import) records that match specific criteria.
     
  13. hmmmk

    hmmmk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    I was trying to get around the transferring of files. I've already accessed the db with my own computer (downstairs from the home office computer). The problem was the whole synch-ing the information. We were trying to stay away from that.

    I really thank you for your help though, especially considering the hour. :)
     
  14. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Well. It's late for some, yes. :) I'm a night owl.
    Wish I could help more, but I really think it might be best for one person to hold the *main* database, and all three PCs hold their own work as well.

    If you have cheap web space and FTP programs, you could all fairly easily get into the swing of it. If you don't have cheap web space, try www.lunarpages.com. They also have a file upload that doesn't require an FTP program.
     
  15. hmmmk

    hmmmk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    :) Try convincing the boss that it's the best alternative! Guess I'll need another plan....

    Must go, but if you come up with any more ideas, I'd love to read them!

    Thanks again!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218587

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice