1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Does XP have tha Partition ability that Partition magic has??

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by melbo, Sep 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. melbo

    melbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    I'm looking to Partition my disk for a linux dual boot and I know that somewhere in here, XP should be able to do it. I'm sure that PM uses FDISK in some way...

    Any thoughts?

    thanks

    melbo
     
  2. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can't partition a disk that already has data on it with Windows Disk Management, if you change an existing partition, you'll lose all the data it contains. A 3rd party solution is the option for partitioning an already running system.
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If possible it is generally a lot more reliable and certainly safer to do this from the start. Trying it afterwards, even with programs like Partition Magic carry a certain amount of risk. If there is any important data or configuations you want to keep, you should back them up to a different hard drive than the one you are going to partition. Personally I had a lot of success with doing things like this with PM and other software but always back things up just in case. Figure the one time I don't is when something will go wrong.
     
  5. melbo

    melbo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks for the replies. I figured that and tonight bought a 120G USB HD. I'm going to back up all imortant data and then try a Format internal, reload XP and create the partitions then.

    If the External's fast enough, I may just play with Mandrake10 there.

    Thanks again

    melbo
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/275303

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice