1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

domain box missing on login screen

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by teke1ab, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. teke1ab

    teke1ab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I have a computer (Dell) running WIn xp pro (sp2- i think) that my work gave me when i left there, saying it wasn't worth giving back. I used it to work at home and login to thier network.
    the other day, i was messing around with OUtlook to change it from the work email to my personal email and did something ( i don't know what), but when i turned the computer on a couple days later, I can't login.
    There is only my login and password boxes, but the 3rd box which was the ?domain box, isn't there anymore. It won't accept any password.
    I have no restore disk, no xp disk. I have been using it for several months and its been fine. whatever i did in outlook screwed it up and did this.
    what do i do to be able to login again and use the computer?
    I've tried it in safe mode, and it just brings me to the same login page with the same issues- not recognizing password/login. I've tried administrator, and anythng i can think of for password.
    I can't get it.
    There MUST be something I can do!
    Please help.
     
  2. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
    try system restore many systems not tweaked can restore back months,other wise u could try add remove programmes,on the left u can see add remove windows components click that then uninstall and reinstall outlook,this may work I am not sure
     
  3. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Seems you have changed the machine from domain to workgroup. You need to log on to the machine as Administrator and create a new profile for yourself.
     
  4. teke1ab

    teke1ab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    hi thank you, however, i cant get in as administrator, i don't know password. please help
     
  5. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Contact the *work* where you got the machine and ask for it. I would also ask for a copy of the OS cd that is installed since you will need that as well.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - domain missing login
  1. Robertico22
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    611
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540471

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice