1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Domain not accessible except with Administrator privileges

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by CarolinaBill, Oct 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CarolinaBill

CarolinaBill Thread Starter

I don't know in which forum this belongs: Win XP, or Linux, or Networks, but I will start here.

I am an assistant administrator in a retirement community, of a network of five Win XP computers that are available for use by residents who are first registered with a userID and a password. The server for the network has a Linux OS with a SAMBA interface to the Windows machines. Among other actions, this server also provides IMAP e-mail service for the computers in its domain. The server is managed by an administrator who is a paid consultant. Recently, a new Linux system was installed at the same time as the resident computers were changed from Win 2000 to Win XP. This has brought problems that the network administrator has not been able to resolve. The problem begins with a Linux program that assigns userIDs and passwords to the server and to SAMBA which then passes these on to a single administrative Win XP computer. Our first step there is to relocate the My Documents folder for the new user from the C: drive to a server drive (which happens to be named H:) and this drive is remapped for access by all of the domain computers. This common drive is than accessible to all five computers, whereas the C: drive folder is accessible only on that specific computer. While a nuisance, this is alright, and we have always been able to do this. With the change in computers from Win 2000 to Win XP (and perhaps because of the addition of SAMBA), the network permissions, etc. that are moved to the H:\My Documents folder are only accessible by the