1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

domain user, in local admin group being restricted why ?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by oly-450, Apr 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oly-450

oly-450 Thread Starter

hi,

I work in a school with a CC3 (RM) network basically modified windows xp and 2000, i have joined a standard windows xp machine to the domain and added a user on the domain local admins group, however when this user logs in they can see the c drive and access other usually restricted parts of windows what they can not do is change the screen resolutions or right click on the task bar.

what would cause this to happen? my understanding is that once the user is in the local admin group they should have full access to everything on that laptop and rm will not supplt support because they do not support standard windows.

there is no way to block this kind of use from active directory is there ??

2. matt_aj

matt_aj

Check in the administrators group on that machine. It should have "domain admins" in there. Also, C: drive is not normally denied as a standard user unless the policy states it. Do you have any policies in place? If so, you might want to check those to make sure domain admins didn't get put into it as well. It sounds like the domain admins are getting the same rights as a standard user. Also, make ssure you are logging into the domain and not the local machine.

I guess maybe this CC3 might be different... I'm not sure what that is...

3. oly-450

oly-450 Thread Starter

it is the local admin that is restricted, so for example i add a user to the local admin groups so they have full control over that machine, they should not be a domain admin.