1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Don't laugh

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tbrown00, Jan 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tbrown00

    tbrown00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Somebody has to know the answer to this one. I'm trying to install Windows 2000 and I have XP on the machine. I know I have to reformat and therein lies the madness. The question is how do you reformat Windows XP?

    Thank you, T
     
  2. DVOM

    DVOM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,716
    If it's formatted NTFS, use delpart to get rid of the partition entirely. Then use PartitionMagic or similar to recreate the partition.

    If the format is FAT32, just boot with a 98 boot disk and at the A: prompt type "format c:"
     
  3. spiker_22

    spiker_22

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Don't be silly

    Just run the setup prog from the CD when you get to where it shows the partitions and what's on them just delete the partition, create your new one and then format away!
     
  4. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    No kidding, boot with a Win98 boot disk and format the drive. From the A/: format c:
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I seem to recall that the W98 FORMAT will have a problem with the partition if it's formatted NTFS. You can use FDISK to delete the NTFS partition and then recreate it and format it...
     
  6. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    I believe you must use FDisk first, then the format command.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Uhh... is there an echo in here? That's what I just said! :rolleyes:
     
  8. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy there tbrown00, I agree with spiker_22...

    Just delete the partition from the setup, then recreate the partition, then format FAT32 or NTFS ( whatever you wish ), and you're on your way...
     
  9. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    No echo johnwill. It's exactly what you posted. Just repeating it is all . You took it out of context I guess. Sorry.. Lighten up a bit.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Don't laugh
  1. Technoid1
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    767
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115436

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice