1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Doom III can i play?

Discussion in 'Games' started by nvidia290, Oct 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nvidia290

    nvidia290 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Mostly my video card
    Geforce 2 64mb
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+
    512mb RAM

    Or do u think id have trouble?
     
  2. kronus

    kronus

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,138
    You could try. I'd put a new card in that box, something to keep pace with that 64. Is that a PCI card?
     
  3. nvidia290

    nvidia290 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    actually agp. im planning on getting the evga nvidia 6800 -$285 but its a little high so im saving up prolly 2 weeks ill have it
     
  4. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    You would have terrible framerates.
     
  5. nvidia290

    nvidia290 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    ya think so?
     
  6. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Yep. I really do think it would suck at the game. You have an impressive machine but that card is going to hold you back. The card only has 64 megs of video memory, and if I am not mistaken it is a directx 8 card. It'll hurt you.

    The 9800 pro is cheap right now, and I have heard you can get a 6800 gt for around $270.
     
  7. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    I am talking about the gforce 2 not the 6800. The 6800 will eat Doom 3 up. My 9800 pro does a fair job with it. :)
     
  8. nvidia290

    nvidia290 Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    cool thanks
     
  9. Cris_Cr0ss

    Cris_Cr0ss

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    820
    im play doom3 Sing player tht is at:

    Ati Radeon 9600
    P4 2.8ghz
    512 ram n Creative Sound Blaster Audigy soundcard with omega video drivers
    and it seems 2 b fine no lag at least that i can forsee plus i have an lcd screen so that has lower screen refresh rate..
     
  10. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Cris, what the hey are you doing with an LCD??

    I used to have allot of respect for you as a gamer, now I am rethinking that situation. :D

    You know better so I'll just shut up. LOL
     
  11. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    The GeForce2 is not officially supported in Doom 3. You may be able to get it to run, but only at the absolute lowest settings, and even then, it probably won't run all that great. Other than the video card, your system is fine....but the video card is probably the main thing you need for Doom 3.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/287776

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice