1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DOS not recognizing CD-ROM after reformat

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jimmi, Aug 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jimmi

    jimmi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Hi Techs,

    I reformatted the HD on an old notebook (Compaq LTE 5250) it has a 3.5 floppy and CD-Rom that interchange (1 bay) I can only use one at a time. So I can't get the computer to recognize the CD-ROM (Got "device not found" when booting form 3.5 w/ cd-support) in order to install a new OS in DOS. How do I install the Driver (MSCD001)?

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Jim
     
  2. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
  3. jimmi

    jimmi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    I don't have the msdc001 driver or cdrom.sys. can't find it on the web
     
  4. djrock

    djrock

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Hello jimmi Have you got the cdrom driver Floppy disk for your cdrom drive? If you don't i am sure that the oakcdrom.sys driver on the win98 bootdisk should work but you need to first make your hard disk bootable.
     
  5. jimmi

    jimmi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Hi Dj,

    No, I got the laptop as is. HD reformatted, no cdrom drivers, I looked on the manufactorers web site but could not find a match. Is there a generic substitue I can use?
     
  6. djrock

    djrock

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Can you boot up the laptop into dos without a bootdisk?
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Visit www.bootdisk.com, and you'll find complete bootdisk images which include CD support.
     
  8. djrock

    djrock

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Since you can only have a cdrom or the floppy disk at the one time you will need to get the system to boot up off the hard disk. Then you need to get a cdrom driver and copy it to the hard disk. Then you will need to copy or create autoexec.bat and config.sys to the hard disk. You will also need to copy MSCDEX.EXE to the hard drive.

    In autoexec.bat put this line in without quotes "c:\MSCDEX.EXE /D:mscd001 /L: D" no space between : D

    In config.sys put in this line without quotes "device=(drivers name.sys) /D:mscd001"

    This should work its a long time that i had to setup cdrom access in dos this way. I have a floopy disk that set it up for me.
     
  9. jimmi

    jimmi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    dj,
    Do you where I can get mscd001 driver? My searches aren't going well.
     
  10. djrock

    djrock

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    mscd001 is not a driver i can't remember what its for.
     
  11. djrock

    djrock

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    307
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you had downloaded the boot disk I spoke of previously, you'd already have ALL of the stuff you need to make your hard disk bootable with MS-DOS with CD-ROM support.
     
  13. jimmi

    jimmi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Well,
    I got to the point of loading cd-rom drivers but I do not think I configured my autoexec.bat and config.sys correctly, I got the driver from the manufacturer and the computer now tells me :"Unable to detect ATAPI IDE CD-ROM drive..ATAPI IDE CD-ROM DRIVER not loaded.

    white papers told me it runs on Win 95. and I have Win98 dos loaded. any corrilation?
     
  14. rockinmale

    rockinmale

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    728
    I guess i'll throw in my two cents......

    Depending on what operating system your trying to install. As long as its an original windows copy. It should auto detect the cd and run the windows setup. The only thing that you will need to change is the boot order. Im pretty sure to get into your compaq bios you will need to hit f10 on startup. Once in there look for the boot order and change the cdrom to be the first boot device. Save and exit and it should bootup from the cd.

    Just an FYI you cannot hot swap the drives while the system is on.

    I hope this helps.....

    Let's us know what happens.....
    Good Luck
    TC
    rockinmale:cool:
     
  15. jimmi

    jimmi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Rock,
    Tried that also. It didn't make a difference,

    Thanks anyway.

    Jim
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/160928

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice