1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dot.tk Free DNS service Setup Help!

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by DSdavidDS, Jan 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    I am working on a website and I have been using dot.tk's domain forwarding for a long time but I have noticed that it is not as effective as other websites of dot.tk who use the Free DNS service.

    I would like to use the same but I am having a few problems in setting the website up.

    Here is the form:
    [​IMG]

    I need to know what I put in the Host Name and IP address

    Please tell me if I am being unclear of what I am asking for. Help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. ehymel

    ehymel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Not sure what you mean by "not as effective"...

    You put the domain name of your website (for Host Name) and IP address of the server where you website is being hosted (for IP Address).
     
  3. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    I tried that and I get an error. It doesnt seem to work =o
     
  4. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    I need more help guys!

    Can someone give me examples of what I need to do?
     
  5. ehymel

    ehymel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    The answer is exactly what I wrote... if that's not working, then your problem is somewhere else.
     
  6. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    I am currently using 000webhost.com

    The ip directs me to the main website (66.197.250.197)

    I am not sure what I put for the host name?
     
  7. ehymel

    ehymel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    What is the domain name of the website you have created?
     
  8. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
  9. ehymel

    ehymel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Great question, and it gets to the point I wanted to help you with.

    The answer is: www.google.com

    Hope that helps.
     
  10. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    I used this information of the website name and ip and I got an error:
    "Please check this value"
    for both forms.

    In other words, it didn't work
     
  11. ehymel

    ehymel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    The form you posted asks for a host name (not domain name).

    For google, the host name would be google.com. The IP address for google is 74.125.227.18.

    If this sort of thing doesn't work for you, please contact support for your DNS server (dot.tk).
     
  12. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Basically what I am trying to do is to make my website an actual .tk site, not just a cover up domain. None of your suggestions seem to be working :(

    Can you try showing me an example?
     
  13. ehymel

    ehymel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    I did give an example (google.com).

    Have you registered a domain name with a registrar? That is the first step. Take that domain name to this form.

    Then find a host for your website. Your host will assign you an IP address. Take that IP address to this form.
     
  14. DSdavidDS

    DSdavidDS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Do you think it has anything do do with my webhost? I "Ping"ed to my website using command prompt and I got the IP of 66.197.250.198

    I go to that IP and I go to http://error404.000webhost.com/?
     
  15. ehymel

    ehymel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Nope, this is perfectly normal behavior. Many domain names can be hosted on a single IP address.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975950

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice