Dot.tk Free DNS service Setup Help!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DSdavidDS

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
183
I am working on a website and I have been using dot.tk's domain forwarding for a long time but I have noticed that it is not as effective as other websites of dot.tk who use the Free DNS service.

I would like to use the same but I am having a few problems in setting the website up.

Here is the form:


I need to know what I put in the Host Name and IP address

Please tell me if I am being unclear of what I am asking for. Help would be greatly appreciated!
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
696
I have noticed that it is not as effective as other websites of dot.tk who use the Free DNS service.
Not sure what you mean by "not as effective"...

I need to know what I put in the Host Name and IP address
You put the domain name of your website (for Host Name) and IP address of the server where you website is being hosted (for IP Address).
 

DSdavidDS

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
183
I need more help guys!

Can someone give me examples of what I need to do?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
696
The answer is exactly what I wrote... if that's not working, then your problem is somewhere else.
 

DSdavidDS

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
183
I am currently using 000webhost.com

The ip directs me to the main website (66.197.250.197)

I am not sure what I put for the host name?
 

DSdavidDS

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
183
I used this information of the website name and ip and I got an error:
"Please check this value"
for both forms.

In other words, it didn't work
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
696
The form you posted asks for a host name (not domain name).

For google, the host name would be google.com. The IP address for google is 74.125.227.18.

If this sort of thing doesn't work for you, please contact support for your DNS server (dot.tk).
 

DSdavidDS

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
183
Basically what I am trying to do is to make my website an actual .tk site, not just a cover up domain. None of your suggestions seem to be working :(

Can you try showing me an example?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
696
I did give an example (google.com).

Have you registered a domain name with a registrar? That is the first step. Take that domain name to this form.

Then find a host for your website. Your host will assign you an IP address. Take that IP address to this form.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
696
Nope, this is perfectly normal behavior. Many domain names can be hosted on a single IP address.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top