1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Dotted vertical line separator in taskbar

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by starnelka, Apr 25, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Up until yesterday I had a neat vertical dotted line separating some of my folders in the taskbar. Suddenly it disappeared, as did three of my folders. I've put the folders back but want to keep them apart from others and can't remember how I created the line. I've Googled this numerous times but can only find the empty folder solution which I can't seem to make work.

    Can anybody please tell me in simple terms how to reinstall the separator?
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,728
    Howdy starnelka. Can you post a screenshot please?
     
  3. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    A screenshot of what? The taskbar? It might take a day or two because I'm about to close down for a couple of days. I'll do it later.
     
  4. TulsaRose

    TulsaRose

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,284
    First Name:
    Rosie
    Right click Start then click on Properties
    Select Taskbar tab. Make any changes there for Taskbar use.
     
  5. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Not sure what help a screenshot will be but here it is. I want the dotted line spacer between Word and Picasa.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TulsaRose

    TulsaRose

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,284
    First Name:
    Rosie
    Have you enabled Quick Launch in the Taskbar settings? Your image doesn't appear to show that being the case. Your shortcuts are all on the Task Bar, not in the Quick Launch. The little dots forming a seperator only show up with Quick Launch enabled. With Quick Launch enabled, you click\hold and slide it to the left where you want the seperator..

    This image of my set-up on a WinXP Pro using Windows Classic display mode, has the two small arrows which allow me to slide it back and forth to display shortcuts of my choice.
    upload_2016-4-27_7-53-55.png

    This HowToGeek article may be of some help.
     
  7. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    I searched for Quick Launch and a message came up. This is what it said:
    What happened to the Quick Launch toolbar?

    The Quick Launch toolbar isn't included in this version of Windows. To open programs quickly, you can pin them to the taskbar. For more information, see Pin a program to the taskbar.
    To open files, folders, or websites quickly, you can pin them to the program's Jump List. You can use Jump Lists to get to recently-opened items. For more information, see Using Jump Lists to open programs and items.


    There have been a few little glitches lately but I'm at a loss as to understand why. My first thought was a Windows update but when I looked I had a few weeks worth to install. I have Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1 just as I have always had. I'm stumped.
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,728
    You can still add quick launch in W7. TulsaRose provided a link to walk you through it.
     
  9. TulsaRose

    TulsaRose

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,284
    First Name:
    Rosie
    There are many posts around the web pertaining to recent Windows Updates causing major problems for Windows 7 Home Premium o\s's. Check out this Google search.
     
  10. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    I don't know what's happening but when I logged on today Quick Launch had disappeared along with the shortcuts I had pinned to it. Something must be turning it off. I've put it all back but how long will it stay this time? Does anyone have any ideas because I surely don't?
     
  11. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,537
    First Name:
    David
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,702
    First Name:
    Allan
    FWIW quicklaunch still works and the separator 'dots' are there on my Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit, all updates installed.
     
  13. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Dave, I checked on the link you gave above but when I followed the advice given I couldn't find Taskband or Favourites. However, I have been to HKLM\software\microsoft\windows\current version\policies\explorer. I then changed the value of both NoActiveDesktop files from 1 to 0. So far, Quick Launch has remained but I don't know if this is only a temporary solution. We shall see - watch this space!
    Thank to everyone who has made suggestions and comments.
     
  14. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,728
    I've not had dotted lines on mine since I don't know when. I also do not have them on my Vista machine, either with the QL locked or unlocked. Below is from my W7 machine.

    upload_2016-5-2_7-48-59.png
     
  15. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    I put Quick Launch on to Windows 7. I think I googled it - Steps to add the quick launch bar. It worked but only for a couple of days. I'm hoping I've now got it there permanently after changing the value of No Active desktop.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Dotted vertical line
  1. uncabob
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    247
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1170351

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice