1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Double IP double bandwidth?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by GillIT, Sep 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GillIT

    GillIT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    If I get another IP address, will I be able to double my bandwidth? I use a cable service.
     
  2. caminator

    caminator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    I'm not an expert, but I highly doubt it. Some of it probably depends on your ISP however.
     
  3. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    No, I don't believe that would help. Your computer can have only one address at a time. However, some ISP are able to change your bandwidth to double your speed. Here in Atlanta, Comcast is "testing" that now. My speed has about doubled and I'm sure I'll be able to keep the increased speed after the "test" peroid for an increased monthly fee. So, check with your ISP.
     
  4. scottosan

    scottosan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    No
     
  5. play1998

    play1998

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    hey what you can actually do if you really wanted is get dsl and cable and get one of those routers i don tknow if you seen them before but that are for double dsl :) and you can actually devide the bandwith of bouth for the network or use one for backup , its so sweet :)
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Having more IP addresses will do nothing for your available bandwidth, given the same broadband service.
     
  7. GillIT

    GillIT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks guys.

    I guess this also applies even if two computers use different IPs but same cable line? Right now, I share a router with two other people.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If three people can't share broadband, you need to break the connection of the guy using Kazaa and hogging the bandwidth! :D
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Double double bandwidth
  1. LaustDengsoe
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    154
  2. Patrick1242
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    216
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167319

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice