1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Download back to memory card

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by sidbub, Feb 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Is there a way to send a few uploaded pictures from the computer back to the camera's memory card? When camera is attached to computer, it reads generic volume F:
     
  2. ChuckE

    ChuckE

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    2,311
    If you were able to use a program (I'm thinking Windows Explorer, but there are others) to "drag" the photos off the card while still in the camera, then you should be able to just drag them back as well.

    I've done it many times, myself, and I just use Windows Explorer.

    BTW, if you do not put the pictures back into a properly named, and recognized, picture folder for your camera, then your camera may not display them on the camera's LCD panel. The pictures will still be there, just not accessible via the camera's picture viewer.
     
  3. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    I don't see how you can do that. The camera's mem card does not show up anywhere.
     
  4. Moby

    Moby

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,709
    You said it shows up as
    That's where you drag them into. As the previous post states though, make sure you drag them into any sub folders that your camera uses. Double click F to open it. If there are sub folders there, those are the ones they need to go into.
     
  5. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    I can see the frive in windows explorer and the actual picture that I dragged over to it. I do not see it on the lcd on the camera though.
     
  6. Moby

    Moby

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,709
    Read what chuck and I have said. Your F drive (your camara) may well have sub folders which it stores the pics too. Double click the F drive. Any Folders in there apart from your pic? If so your pic needs to go into the folder that your camera uses to store pics.
    Also, you may have to rename your pics to the same format your camera uses. That is the file names need to match, then you add numbers, as your camera does.
     
  7. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Sorry guys, I.m not getting it. The picture in question is labeled DSCN0339.jpg. In the F drive a folder is designated 101NIKON. When I move it to that folder, it creates a subfolder. In the 101NIKON folder, I have tqo pics with file names: DSCN0351 and DSCN0352.jpg, then a subfolder names DSCN0339.jpg. I hope I am making this clear to you. Thank you for your inputs.
     
  8. sidbub

    sidbub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    644
    Hooray! I finally got it. I understand now. The initial problem was that I did an export out of my image viewer rather than doing the whole procedure through windows explorer. Thanks for your tips.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542929

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice