Download back to memory card

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
Is there a way to send a few uploaded pictures from the computer back to the camera's memory card? When camera is attached to computer, it reads generic volume F:
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
2,311
If you were able to use a program (I'm thinking Windows Explorer, but there are others) to "drag" the photos off the card while still in the camera, then you should be able to just drag them back as well.

I've done it many times, myself, and I just use Windows Explorer.

BTW, if you do not put the pictures back into a properly named, and recognized, picture folder for your camera, then your camera may not display them on the camera's LCD panel. The pictures will still be there, just not accessible via the camera's picture viewer.
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
I don't see how you can do that. The camera's mem card does not show up anywhere.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,711
You said it shows up as
generic volume F:
That's where you drag them into. As the previous post states though, make sure you drag them into any sub folders that your camera uses. Double click F to open it. If there are sub folders there, those are the ones they need to go into.
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
I can see the frive in windows explorer and the actual picture that I dragged over to it. I do not see it on the lcd on the camera though.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
8,711
Read what chuck and I have said. Your F drive (your camara) may well have sub folders which it stores the pics too. Double click the F drive. Any Folders in there apart from your pic? If so your pic needs to go into the folder that your camera uses to store pics.
Also, you may have to rename your pics to the same format your camera uses. That is the file names need to match, then you add numbers, as your camera does.
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
Sorry guys, I.m not getting it. The picture in question is labeled DSCN0339.jpg. In the F drive a folder is designated 101NIKON. When I move it to that folder, it creates a subfolder. In the 101NIKON folder, I have tqo pics with file names: DSCN0351 and DSCN0352.jpg, then a subfolder names DSCN0339.jpg. I hope I am making this clear to you. Thank you for your inputs.
 

sidbub

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
669
Hooray! I finally got it. I understand now. The initial problem was that I did an export out of my image viewer rather than doing the whole procedure through windows explorer. Thanks for your tips.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top