1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Download Manager??

Discussion in 'General Security' started by BobJam, Apr 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BobJam

BobJam Thread Starter

I recently downloaded and installed one of those free download managers.

I had been using one called "WellGet", but it stopped working for some reason, and the author no longer has a web site.

I know a lot of those things have spyware, adware, and malware. I had been using WellGet for several years, and had no indication of any infections from it, or that it even contained any of those things itself.

I have a primitive archaic dial up, which is why I have even considered and used a download manager. The capability to resume downloads is critical when you've been downloading something for hours and then it disconnects. My virus defs are approaching 40MB now, and the daily updates I do, manually by the way, just about require the ability to resume if there is a disconnect. There is nothing quite as bothersome as having a large download interrupted and then having to start all over again.

I would switch to broadband and be done with the whole issue, but I live in a rural area and broadband is just not that reliable. I've considered satellite, but that seems like it would be just as much hassle as dial up.

In any case, I Googled on download managers, and came across a link for reviews by that Spybot S&D guy. He recommended "LeechGet" and "Download Express" as spware and adware free, but I tried them and was not very satisfied with their GUI