1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Download Problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tunelljc, Sep 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tunelljc

    tunelljc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Thought I had posted this question before but can't find it. So I'll try again.
    When I try to download some program (eg adaware) I get a pop-up error with an error message that says
    "C:\Documen....\...\local...\temp\
    then a file name
    then could not be saved because the source file could not be read"
    When I look in the c:\Documen....... directory the file exists but has 0 size.
    When I close the pop-up error, the file goes away.
    Anybody have a suggestion.
    Thanks,
    JCT
     
  2. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    I'm not certain what is going on, but check your Browser > Tools > Internet Options > Security > Custom Level and scroll down until you see if "Download files" is enabled.

    Also, do you have a firewall?
     
  3. TheRef310

    TheRef310

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    firewalls, proxies, etc. could screw with your downloading...also, if you started the other post, then it should be under your subscribed posts in your member area...also, you should put the e-mail warning up for when posts are added...
     
  4. tunelljc

    tunelljc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the clue.
    I use Netscape as the default browser and my problem occurred with it.
    I tried with IE and things work fine.
    So it must be some setting in Netscape.
    I don't see the settings you referred to but will try to research for something similar in Netscape.
    AT least my problem is temporarily taken care of with this work around.
    Thanks, again.
     
  5. tunelljc

    tunelljc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    I finally got back to looking at my problem. Somehow (I am not sure how) I found a reference to a problem when you install 7.1 over a previous version of Netscape (which is what I had done).
    The problem solution is described at

    http://home.att.net/~cherokee67/ns71cantdownload.html

    I followed the instructions to uninstall Netscape 7.0 and do a clean install of 7.1 . So far it seems to have worked.
    Hope maybe someone else can make use of this.
    JCT
     
  6. v6_3500

    v6_3500

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    19
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166407

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice