1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Download...

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by cheesyboy, Sep 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Where can I download the best version of linux? (that would be Linux 9...right?)
     
  2. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    There are tons of different linux distributions, they are all on different version numbers.
    For a beginner, the best are probably Mandrake and SuSe Linux.
     
  3. Xeran

    Xeran

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Most likely SuSE is better for you.
     
  4. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    I heard its free, where can I download it?
     
  5. websurfer

    websurfer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,714
    linuxiso.org

    Take your pick
     
  6. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Thank you.

    http://linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=2

    I've decided that I will try SuSE. Since im a total newbie and never even seen what linux looks like.

    Which file am I supposed to download??

    Current specs:

    p4.2.2ghz 22x100
    390 SDR RAM
    128DDR Nv.FX5200 4xAGP

    Is my system i386? or SPARC? or what?

    EDIT : I think i got it...i386... i chose the 700meg one in the first section.

    However, after I burn the ISO image to a CD, do I delete current partition through fdisk...then create...then set CD-ROM as first boot device...and restart??

    Will it read the disk??
     
  7. websurfer

    websurfer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,714
    Hang on there ;) You don't know how it will work, I suggest you get the Live-Eval CD first, it'll boot form the CD when you restart, and you don't have to install. THEN if you liek it we can guide you on installing it ;)
     
  8. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    So I get the Live-eval then burn to cd,

    Then do I have to format?? and then run from the CD? or....just run from the CD even with windows as the current OS?
     
  9. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    just run from the CD! you can play with it without getting rid of windows....So eager to destroy your windows drive...
     
  10. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    You have to understand that im a very very very very very very very very....

    couple thousand more very-s .....angry windows customer.
     
  11. tsunam

    tsunam

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    I still have to run windows for 2 selected applications. However everything else I do is in Linux.

    I think the number one reason for people to use linux is because they do dislike Windows...course Linux is no picnic. Its a lot of work in of itself :) (although, at least you know what its doing..so its easier to figure out..instead of a cryptic BSOD)
     
  12. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Ok I burned the ISO file of the Live Eval..as an image.....

    and put the cd in my dvd drive...why isnt it doing some auto play?? how does it work?
     
  13. websurfer

    websurfer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,714
    Leave it in the drive and restart your PC, it should then boot into the CD, then Linux.
     
  14. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    ok cool
     
  15. cheesyboy

    cheesyboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Linux started up...from the CD...its loading ...and then it said starting PCMCIA.........and its been saying that...for a long time...i dont hear the harddrive...spinning...nor the cd drive....


    its just there...i can type stuff (this is the SuSE version)........and its just there....

    does anyone know whats going on?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/270595

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice