Downloading Email and Usenet Meesages?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Terminus

Hi everyone. I am pretty new to WiFi and am baffled by two things. First; How do I connect and download emails via Outlook 2003 over a wireless network. Normally abroad in airports or around my friends house. Usually it doesn't let me.
Second; This is nearly the same question but involves downloading messages from USENET when I'm travelling. I use 4titude client Dialogue. I undersand I need passwords but why and how do I get round this.
Thank you
Terminus

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
I use Supernews as my USENET service, and I can connect anywhere in the world and access USENET newsgroups. I have no idea what 4titude client Dialogue is, I use Forte Agent for newsgroup access.

Unless your ISP restricts access to mail to connections from their service, there should be no difference with Outlook and email either. I use Eudora for email, and I can connect to my email anywhere I am, through any network.

You'll have to be a lot more specific as to your ISP and USENET news server, since from the information provided, I don't see why you'd have a problem.

Terminus

Thank you John. My ISP is Plusnet and the client is 40tude Dialog. Whenever I connect to Usenet via this client over a wireless network it denies the connection and gives a password error. Something similiar happens when accessing email with Outlook. I prefer to keep everything together. I have both IMAP and POP email servers.

JohnWill

Retired Moderator