1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Downloads

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by brownie, Dec 9, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brownie

    brownie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    55
    I am in the process of changing ISP and have several problems. The last time I talked with the new Support tech she told me to go to Microsoft.com and download Outlook Express 5 since it apparently did not load when I switched over. However, I cannot find a place on Microsoft to download this specific item

    Please, if you can help me out again, I would really appreciate it. I can only hope I'll be able to get a message because things seem to be really fouled up.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    Hiya

    I thought that it was preinstalled on your PC.

    Does she mean that go to the download section and download the latest updates? If so, thats here:

    http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/

    Just click Product Updates. Your Outlook Express should be on your PC. Look at the bottom of your computer screen towards the Start button. There is the blue E, Internet Explorer icon. Next to it, is an envelope with arrows round it. Thats Outlook Express.

    What happens when you click that?

    eddie
     
  3. brownie

    brownie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    55
    In regard to my previous message, since I am having all kinds of problems with O.E. please send any help to my hotmail.com box since that seems to work ok. The address is [email protected]. Thank you/
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    hi brownie... you can only save the address book...everything else is already installed.. when you update it will change the version you have now .


    Savvy :)

    Open Outlook express ...click on addressbook & then go to file & export it to My Documents........ name it & click save
     
  5. brownie

    brownie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    55
    Savvy Lady and Eddie: I did (have) Outlook Express on my puter. When I tried to follow your instructions, Savvy, I got the following message: " Address book failed to load. O.E is incorrectly configured, Please reinstall."

    I followed Eddie's suggestion and when I click on the O.E. icon on the bottom of my screen nothing happens except the old messages appear and nothing more. In fact, I have had to shut down my pc completely to get out of the program.

    Whether the new ISP can straighten this mess out, I don't know but each time I call to their Tech Support to help me I end up waiting on the line as long as 50 minuteso that is why I came to my life saviors at helponthe.net.

    Any further suggestions? Hope, hope.
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
  7. brownie

    brownie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    55
    Hiya to you, too, Eddie: Thanks for your replies. I went into the site you gave me and it appears to be the one to reinstall the OE. Neophyte that I am, I am scared silly to even start as I'll probably cause the pc to self-destruct. After reading instructions several more times, printing out, etc and a night's sleep maybe I will get up enough nerve to follow their instructions despite all of the warnings they give. (I'll have to check out the ads to see how much another pc will set me back if I manage to blow this one.)

    Have a great evening and thank you again. Will let you know how this turns out.
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,073
    Hiya

    If you want, someone can go through it with you. I'll be on later tonight, in about 6 hours, depending on your time (I'm in the UK).

    I assume you're using Win98. If you're unsure about the registry, we can talk you through that.

    As I say, you don't need to go at it aone, if you're unsure about it. And I doubt you'll need a new PC, as we'll backup your registry prior to deleting.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61246

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice