'Drive A is using MS-DOS compatibility mode file system'

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Shadow_555

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
18
Hey i recently installed a new floppy disk drive due to old one becoming damaged after a floppy disk got jammed in it, after installing this new drive i get an error on the first start screen saying 'Floppy drive failure, press F1 to continue'

I also have 'Drive A is using MS-DOS compatibiltiy mode file system' in the performance tab in system.

Ok i was wondering how to fix this i also see two floppy disk controlers on hardware tab, is that correct?

Thanks in advance
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Is the light on the floppy drive contantly lit even when it's not in use? If not, do you even see it light up when booting up?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Sounds like you have the ribbon cable or power connected incorrectly. Check for a good connection and that the red stripe on the ribbon cable is oriented correctly to pin one on the FDD.
 

Shadow_555

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
18
that originaly was my first porblem when i first put the drive in lol, the light was continiously on, however once the fixed the cable, it was ok, but not really lol, got this error instead, any ideas?
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
That's why I asked if the light was on constantly. If it is, then you have the strap on backwards.

Anyway, what error message are you getting?
 

Shadow_555

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
18
'Drive A is using MS-DOS compatibiltiy mode file system'

The light isnt on continously, it was until i fixed it was what i was saying
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
First try deleting the floppy drive listed in the Device Manager along with the two floppy controllers and then restart Windows to let it re add the device.

Is it ok now?

If not, you haven't mentioned your version of Windows. Assuming it's W95/98/ME, try troubleshooting it with the article below. If it's not W95/98/ME, what is the OS version? Let us know what you find.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;131690&Product=w98
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
If it's not ok after removing the devices and rebooting, try this before you goto the article.

Start>Run, key in msconfig and press enter. Now select "Selective Startup" and unselect "Process Autoexec.bat". Now click on Apply and follow the prompts to restart. Now check the floppy status. Is it ok now?

If not go back to Selective Startup and Unselect "Process Config.sys", click on Apply and follow the prompts to restart. Is it ok now?
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Have you looked at the Microsoft article I linked above and tried all of their suggestions?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Most often, this will be solved only with a format and reinstall :(

Have you scanned for viruses lately, by chance?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top