Drive wipe and programs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JamesJD125

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
160
CCleaner offers a drive wiper.
i was thinking of wiping my drive. but then i realised, i have programs which require authentication codes. and i wasn't sure how i would keep the programs on my computer, or at least reinstall them after without needing new codes?
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
What is your reason for wanting to wipe the drive?
 

JamesJD125

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
160
i just got loads of programs and folders from programs that i don't have anymore, and it's just a bit clogged up
and i've had virus' and i'm not sure if they're all gone.
i've got all my stuff backed up, it's mainly music that i need, i'll just reinstall iTunes and Google chrome.
thank you in advance.
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
That is not a task for a drive wiper such as is offered by CCleaner.
A drive wiper is used to completely overwrite files so that they cannot be recovered (undeleted). It is more a protection of privacy than anything else.
You can wipe the Free Space of a drive so that all files that have in the past been deleted cannot be recovered. This will not remove any programs or files from your machine.
You can wipe the entire drive, which will permanently erase all data and require you to reinstall Windows and all software. This is typically only required when you wish to sell or give away a computer and don't want the new owner to be able to access your personal information.

However if your aim is to reinstall Windows that will not necessitate wiping the drive at all and CCleaner won't help you. All you should need to reinstall windows is a Windows installation disk. With that in mind I'm looking into backing up product keys; I've seen something on the topic but can't remember where.
 

JamesJD125

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
160
i don't have the windows install discs.
when i purchased the laptop it came with Windows Vista, but i got a free upgrade to 7.
so i wasn't sure if i would have to reinstall Windows 7.
is there no way of just wiping the drive clean of everything appart from the operating system, so it comes as it would from the factory.
i would try finding out about a factory restore, but the factory restore would be Windows Vista.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
What Brand is the laptop? . . many come with a built in recovery partition, but even that would return the operating system to Vista ( pardon the language )

How did you ugpgrade to Win7? Do you have that disc?
 

JamesJD125

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
160
HP compaq CQ60-490SA
i wouldn't mind reinstalling Windows 7. as long as the authentication still works.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
You might have to call MIcrosoft, but the authentication should be a snap since you are reinstalling on the same machine
 

JamesJD125

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
160
Well i just want to start all over again. would factory settings reset do this?
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
Well i just want to start all over again. would factory settings reset do this?
Yes, a factory reset would certainly do that.
The only thing that could still cause issues over a factory reset are hardware problems and comparison effects (basic psychology that your machine doesn't perform as well as the latest machines so it seems to have slowed down.) All the clutter and possible virus problems you report will be removed.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
If your laptop has it, look for a prompt when you first press the power button
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
I think it's Belarc Advisor that I saw recommended as being able to recover software licenses, but I'm not sure.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top