Driver needed for unidentified modem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

goodafterbad

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
7
I am using windows XP. I need to download a driver for the modem on my computer. I have looked at it and it has no obvious maker name. There is a small sticker on ot with M156AMB and 040705542 which is also bar coded. The Modem is less than two months old.

Can anyone identify the maker from this sticker?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
28
Download Belarc Advisor and run it and it will give you all your System Specs
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
I believe thats an ambient (AMB) chipset, support through intel check out here .
 

goodafterbad

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
7
kodi said:
Download Belarc Advisor and run it and it will give you all your System Specs
Thanks Kodi. I downloaded Belarc onto a floppy and transferred it over on to the other computer. It works rather neatly but unfortunately does not appear to have detected or identified the modem. I thought it might be too good to be true. It does give a neat description of my set up so it will be useful in other ways. Thanks very much.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Everest can detect hardware without looking at drivers unlike Belarc.
 

goodafterbad

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
7
Thank you all for the suggestions.
I do have one other problem which may not be much of a problem for you. I've downloaded the Everest utility suggested by Triple onto the computer I am using with a working modem. (Windows 98) . It is 2.6MB. The only way I can transfer it to the other computer with the unidentified modem is by floppy disks. (i.4MB). I have tried using BACKUP which verifies that it has saved the file to 2 floppy disks but the other computer will not RESTORE them. The other computer is running windowsXP.

Any suggestions.

Thanks TEC there is no fcc number. It isn't a requirement here in the UK apparantly. I'll follow up your suggestion of identifying the chips if I get stuck on this EVEREST download.
 

goodafterbad

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
7
Thanks Trip Everest did identify it. It was an Intel EP236 V.92.

I've downloaded a driver from the net and it works :)

Thanks Zeddy You guessed right about intel from very limited info.
Thanks Tec and Kodi for your effort.

This may have been a small thing for you but it was a very big one for me :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top