1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dropped connections every 5 minutes

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sf_331, Jul 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sf_331

    sf_331 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    My router keeps dropping the connection every 2-5 minutes. I have a:
    Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router with 4 port switch - Model: WRT54G

    What could be the problem? Drivers?
     
  2. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    Does it drop if your hardwired or wireless? Have you reset the modem and the router? Have you tried pinging the router during a drop and have you tried pinging an external IP during a drop? What are the results? Have you tried using your wireless PC (possibly laptop?) in another wireless locatio nt see if it functions there?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    And if you have a 2.4Ghz cordless phone, unplug the base station and remove the handset's battery and see if that improves things.
     
  4. sf_331

    sf_331 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    It only drops the wireless, not the hardwired. I have pressed the reset button for 20 seconds and have the light flicker. I also unplugged it and plugged it back in. It happens all over the house, even when the laptop is on my desk. I updated the firmware via linksys.com and my sister says it drops a little bit less but its still an annoyance according to her.
    I dont know how to ping, how do i do that?

    Well its a fairly new problem and I havent bought a new phone, but ill try that. Just wondering, why would a 2.4 ghz cordless phone cause a bad connection?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    "Just wondering, why would a 2.4 ghz cordless phone cause a bad connection?"

    You apparently have never tried to listen to a radio station while also hearing another station broadcasting on the same or very close frequency. :) Or tried to listen to two people talking at the same time about different things.

    I've never heard anything more detailed than "wireless interference," but I think that sometimes a router interprets a cordless phone signal as a command to disconnect all connections or just all wireless connections.
     
  6. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,232
    Actually how it has been explained to me is like this.

    On the wireless 2.4GHz band there is a block of MHz that the devices work on. The Wifi uses 3 22MHz bands to communicate and must be set accordingly. (This is known as its channels). Then there is the wireless phone this wireless phone uses 5 to 10MHz. Now the fact is they communicate with different "langagues" on these bands and the truth is the cordless phone always wins out in the battle. The cordless phone will make a network stop but not vice versa. (I am assuming due to the high demand for back and fourth talking on the network side and keep alives and things of that nature I realy never investigated it enough to worry about it).

    Now comes the fun part... some cordless phones can have a manual channel programmed into them. Others however channel hop. If you have a channel hopping phone you probably can never effectivly block out it interfering with your 2.4 ghz wifi unless you 1) Upgrade to a 5.8ghz phone 2) downgrade to 900mhz phones. Neither of these will interfere with the 2.4ghz spectrum at all.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    sf_331, any updates to report?

    You asked about pinging. While I think it's clear from you posts that your wireless connection drops and the wired connections and the router's connection to the internet stay on, it is still very useful to know how to ping. Following is how to use ping to test for communication with your router, the internet, and the internet with symbolic name.

    To open a Command Window: Start - Run – cmd (command in 98SE) - OK

    To determine a computer's IP address and router's IP address: open a Command Window and type
    ipconfig /all

    The "Gateway" is the router's IP address.

    Now for some troubleshooting:

    1. On the PC open a Command window and type
    ping IProuter (where IProuter is the IP address of the router)

    Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?

    IF you got replies,
    2. ping 66.94.234.13 (or any other internet address you know)

    Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?

    If you got replies,
    3. ping www.yahoo.com (or any other internet name)

    Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?
     
  8. sbrown54

    sbrown54

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I recently changed from a Linksys wireless router to a D-Link to obtain a USB connection for my printer. My desktop is wired, my laptop is wireless. I now suffer from the same ills discussed here, my laptop "drops" the connection randomly. I did not have this problem with the old router (when connected, the D-Link seems to be faster than the old Linksys but I could have a vivid imagination). Nothing has changed but the router. Can it be that my signal strength isn't strong enough? Would an replacement antenna help?

    THANKS!
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Welcome, sbrown54. Please initiate your own thread because forum rules frown on multiple people trying to get help in one thread and because my muddled mind has trouble just keeping one problem straight. While you are initiating, please note the suggestions in posts #2 and 3 above.
     
  10. sf_331

    sf_331 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    im sorry about the delay
    i had to leave the city on an emergency
    [​IMG]
    Box #1 worked
    Box #2 not showed (done to the router).. got a connection timeout after request #2
    Box #3 worked
    Box #4 worked

    thiis is done from the laptop

    i really appreciate the help, i really need it :)
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Are the disconnects very brief, and then it reconnects automatically? Or do you have to do something (what?) to reconnect?

    Have you eliminated 2.4Ghz cordless phone as a possible cause?

    What is the brand and model of your wireless adapter?

    If it is an integrated adapter, make sure you have or get the latest driver and utility from the laptop manufacturer's web site. If not integrated, get the same from the adapter manufacturer's site.

    Are you using Windows' WZC or the adapter's utility to manage the connection? Are you sure that the other one is not running?
     
  12. sf_331

    sf_331 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    The disconnects are rather brief, you have to click on the cpus at the bottom and click on reconnect. The adaptor came with the laptops and i dont know the model.. how could i check that?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Look for it in Device Manager. Click on the + in front of Network adapters and it should be listed.
     
  14. sf_331

    sf_331 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    i eliminated the phone
    i disconnected all the phones and the problem continued
     
  15. sf_331

    sf_331 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    its not the network adaptor on the laptop (s)
    im thinking its a setting error or something because it affected both laptops at teh same time
    and its not the phone since i disconnected all the phones and the problem continued
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487976