1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dsl to cable, do I need a different router?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by 8nout, Aug 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 8nout

    8nout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    175
    Hi, thanks for viewing my thread. I just switched from DSL to Cable. I ran 4 computers through my Netgear FS605 router when on the DSL. Now on Cable the router will only run 1 computer at a time. Checked with Comcast, things are fine through the modem. All the router port lights for the PC's blink in unison. Are there DSL only and Cable only routers? I see DSL/Cable routers advertised making me think if there are "combo" routers maybe there are singular routers? Need help please as "who's turn on the computer" is wearing thin. :)
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,509
    I've not heard of a router that cares whether DSL or Cable or whatever is feeding the ethernet cable connected to its WAN or Internet or Modem port.

    Maybe if you tell us whether the router gets its WAN IP automatically from your ISP, whether your computers are using static IPs, and what you now need to do to switch from one PC having internet to another somebody can think of somethin'.
     
  3. 8nout

    8nout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    175
    Thanks for the reply, I don't know what wan IP is :eek: , how can I check? The cable guy said something about changing static and automatic things but was greek to me...
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,509
    My assumption:
    Your router is still configured for your old DSL access, and this configuration is not working for your current cable ISP.

    My suggestion (these steps are ordered):
    1. Unplug the modem (from the electrical source).
    2. Shut down your computers.
    3. Reset the router to factory settings; typically you do this by holding the reset button (this button may be recessed and require you to use a paper clip or toothpick) for at least 10 seconds until LEDs start flashing; give it a minute or two for the lights to stop flashing; unplug the router.
    4. Using a known good ethernet cable connect the modem to the router; use the same port that you previously used for the DSL modem, probably identified as WAN or Internet or Modem port.
    5. Connect one or more computers to the router's LAN ports.
    6. Plug in the modem.
    7. Plug in the router.
    8. Boot up your computer(s).

    At worst, your router is now in a known state and if it still does not work you can do set up like it was new just out of its box.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Did you reset the router to factory defaults? That should run with a standard DOCSIS compliant cable modem.

    Are you sure you have the broadband modem plugged into the WAN port? Getting only one computer on-line is usually a symptom of connecting the modem to the switch side of the router.

    Open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  6. 8nout

    8nout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    175
    Holy cow, I can't belive I did this... :D



    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : retired-nan0ex2

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ct.comcast.net.



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ct.comcast.net.

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ADMtek ADM8511 USB To Fast Ethernet Converter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-09-B1-D4

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 69.247.2.179

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.128

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 69.247.2.129

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.16

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.34.240.34

    24.34.241.34

    68.87.64.196

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 03, 2005 8:04:32 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, August 07, 2005 8:04:32 AM
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,509
    I just looked up your "Netgear FS605 router." Couldn't find it. What I found was a Netgear FS605 SWITCH. A 5 port switch. Like John explicitly pointed out, getting only one computer online at a time indicates that the modem is plugged into a LAN port. Since your "router" seems to be a switch, it has only LAN ports. Your ipconfig shows all public IP addresses; just what you'd expect if your computer is getting them from your ISP rather than a router.

    If you want to share one internet connection with multiple computers you need a router.
     
  8. 8nout

    8nout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    175
    ahhhh, leave it to me to not know the difference between a switch and a router! I have ordered a cable "router" from Newegg.

    Thank you guys for your time and helping me!
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Gee, I didn't even think to look up the model number. :D
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/386467