1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DSO Exploit

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Cora, Oct 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cora

    Cora Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    I have a DSO exploit detected by Spybot. My 1st question is I can't find the name of the exploit, if anyone knows how to get it from the program. My 2nd question is do people or companies make DSO exploits? And my last question is if I allow Spybot to take care of it and change my password for e-mail is there anything else I need to do?



    All I have is from Spybot.....

    Company: Microsoft
    Product: Internet Explorer
    Threat: Security hole

    Company URL: http://www.microsoft.com/
    Company product URL: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/
    Company privacy URL: http://www.microsoft.com/info/privacy.htm

    Description
    There's a security hole in IE allowing websites to execute code without asking you first. You can find more information at http://security.greymagic.com/adv/gm001-ie/
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Its more that its a "defective piece of Microsoft code" thats been identified than a purposeful act. Let Spybot deal with it.

    Please yourself about changing your e-mail address.

    Have you applied all patches available for IE?
    I would have thought this would have taken care of it after the security threat was identified, as usually these are included in updates.

    If you have not updated your system (whatever version your Windows IE and system is...and assuming its modern enough to do this to) then you should.
     
  3. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    that data source exploit it a product of windows. In fact it will come up on a completely fresh install (i've tried it) and nothing to worry about so let spybot take care of it.
     
  4. marie500

    marie500

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    829
    I got this same thing about the Exploit, and I have all the updates. I have 6 separate, identical entries for it. When you say "let Spybot deal with it", I assume you mean to put check marks there and let Spybot delete it? (Just want to be sure I'm not misinterpreting!) Thanks.
     
  5. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Correct Marie
     
  6. Cora

    Cora Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks guys!
     
  7. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171120

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice