DTV reception issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bel91111

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
13
Hi everyone
I'm new here and new to dtv as well.
Yesterday I bought a hdd dvd recorder and a set top box. I have it all installed and working but I can only get the auto tuner to find channel 10 and 7. This set up is in my bedroom and doesn't have the best analogue reception. I only have an indoor antenna for this setup.
Can anyone advise what is the best way to go and preferably the cheapest...
I have heard of options such as having another cable run off of the roof antenna, using an amplifier or getting a better indoor antenna.
Any ideas and advice would be appreciated.
Cheers,
Belinda
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
If terrestrial signals are poor on analog, they will not be any better on digital.
You need a good external antenna.
You may be able to put an amplified splitter or masthead splitter at the antenna for a separate good quality signal feed, but make sure the antenna is the correct one and in good condition whle you are doing it.
 

wacor

Banned
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
27,340
How good are your normal over the air signals??

Where I live I can pick 5-6 of the normal over the air stations as I am lucky. However to get them digital I bought an amplified set of rabbit ears designed for digital signals. or so they say. it did make a difference. cost about $50 But i did find that one make worked better than another. so if you can buy from a store you can return if unhappy that should tell you if you have a chance of doing better without going to a roof antenna.
 

bel91111

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
13
Thank you both for your responses.
Wacor I can get 7, 9, 10, really crappy 2 and no sbs on analog tv (in my bedroom). The tv in the lounge room is connected to the roof antenna and gets all the channels, but 2 and sbs are not great. I wet to DSE and the guy told me to try a normal antenna ($20) and return it for a more expensive one if it was no good. So thats where I'm at now. I just need to decide which way to go once I return it. To go for a more expensive antenna as you did, or try these amplified or masthead splitters which I know absolutely nothing about... Are they easy to install for a novice to this kind of thing? I can follow instructions and installed stb and hdd dvd recorder with no problems.
Thanks again,
Belinda
 

wacor

Banned
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
27,340
i tried a couple of the amplified rabbit ears. one definately was better.

where i live i can get NBC, CBS, ABC, PBS and the uhf one such as UPN or whatever it is called and the other major one. so i can get all the traditional over the air. as a kid we picked them up ok on rabbitt ears though so am lucky to live within 20 miles of the stations.

like i said try a couple of the amplified ears that are supposedly designed for hi def. and you will like it when ya get it. much better than cable hi def.

not sure about the other options you mention. if you google for info on hi def antennas as i did you can get a lot of info to try to figure out what to try
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Your mention of DSE suggest that you are in Australia?

Useful link here:
http://www.dba.org.au/index.asp?sectionID=25

The point I was trying to make which you seem to have overlooked, is that digital signals require a good signal level, if you have poor results on analog in that location and with that inside antenna, it will be totally unsuited for digital.

While analog still gives a "watchable" picture at low signal level, digital give nothing at a low signal level.

You need a good outdoor antenna designed for the digital channels. Anything less will be very hit and miss, since your description to date suggests you don't have much signal to play with now.
 

bel91111

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
13
Thanks again to you both

Kiwiguy, to be honest I was looking to see if there was any quickfix or at least cheap fix as we are renting and don't think I could just replace the antenna, but as your post suggests I might not have any better option and will have to either make do or start the process through the landlord to look at replacing the roof antenna.

I'm off to the other side of the forum now to try and sort out some problems with my laptop.

Thanks again,
Belinda
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top