1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual band broadcasting problem, only 1 band works at a time.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jrthesniper, Feb 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jrthesniper

Jrthesniper Thread Starter

OK, this is my first time being a part of or using a tech related forum so here it goes:

I'm trying to help save a neighbor some money by fixing their wireless network.

WNDR3700 Dual band Netgear router.

2.4ghz wireless b/g/n with enabled SSID broadcast, channel=auto, mode set to 130Mbps
    WPA-TKIP + WPA2-AES. wireless isolation is not enabled.

5Ghz wireless a/n enabled SSID broadcast, channel = 44, Mode is up to 300Mbps
    No security encription. (i know...bad, but the lady has lots of kids and family members coming
    and going from the house so she doesn't want one encripted). Video network enabled

Both Radio frequencies are enabled, fragment and CTS/RTS set to max

WPS settings = keep existing.

IPv6 not enabled, No repeating is enabled, No guest networks are enabled(however ssid broadcast is enabled for guest profile 1)

The problem, and reason for fixing the problem is that the 2.4 Ghz band light on the router is ON however the SSID is not being seen by any client in the house. the netgear interface says it is on and working. the neighbor needs the 2.4ghz band to work because the printer is wireless and will only recognize 2.4Ghz SSIDs. Also they have older nintendo DS clients they would like to use on the network.