1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual Boot both OEM Vista and OEM XP?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by ClickCardo, Feb 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ClickCardo

    ClickCardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    I have OEM version of XP Pro on my pc. I'd like to get the OEM version of Vista and clean install to another partition to have a dual boot configuration. Will that work? It's not supposed to if it's an upgrade version of Vista since that deactivates XP, but what if it is a OEM version of Vista?

    Now the tough part. Let's say it does let me. Will it then let me activate/re-activate/etc both Vista and XP say when my hard drive craps out and I have to reinstall them? This just happened to me with only XP and when I went to reactivate I had to call a MS phone number to do so. It was pretty easy, but I'm wondering if that would have been so in a dual boot with both OEM of Vista and XP?

    Well if someone has done so please let me know. I could only hope. So let the conjecture begin.
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    Doing this ... But using two different HDs.
    Didn't deactivate my XP HD.

    Didn't want to take a chance of messing up a perfectly good XP OS...
    since I can't say the same for Vista.
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    I dual boot XP and Vista, neither one has an impact on the other. You can also re-activate more then once, just like with XP. The worse case scenario is that you'd have to call Microsoft to explain why you've exceeded the number of allowed activations - which by the way is really easy and quick.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,804
    I would make an image backup of your system before you start. This way if there are problems, it is a simple matter to restore the image.

    Since you mention hd failure, this is another reason to use imaging software. When your hd dies, you simply replace it and restore the image. You are up and running in about 5min instead of a complete reinstall.
     
  5. ClickCardo

    ClickCardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Thanks guys.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Dual Boot both
  1. Zanem
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    236
  2. Littlebuzzon
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    525
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543567

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice