1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual boot = messed up BCD and vista wont work

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by jhsnowboard, Sep 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Hey guys, I have a Asus G1S.
    I was dual booting XP and Vista...Tryed tons of different stuff.
    I was able to have them both work by disabling partitions... but that way was too un-accessable, as I needed a partitioner boot disc to switch.

    I got Easy BCD and tryed that for a while, Got it so that the Vista would boot up, but the XP had the typical error when trying to boot up. So I tryed tons of stuff....
    But Basically I screwed up the BCD and now it looks like this on the vista BCD boot screen.
    1.Windows XP
    2.Windows XP

    Neither of them work.. One still tryed to load XP and fails, and the other trys to load Vista and fails even worse.

    So Right now I just have the XP partition boot first, so XP loads automatically.

    My vista CD is the G1S resore CD, so I cant repair the boot loader...

    Is there any file I can edit WHILE IN XP where I could change the BCD file on the VISTA PARTITION?

    I have access to the whole vista partition... but dont know where to look.
     
  2. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    You mention you tried EasyBcd. You are aware that it can be installed in XP? You might find it will sort out your problem if not already tried (an failed!)
    Otherwise, much the same thing, VistaBootPro is another program for sorting out you dual bot and MBR
     
  3. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks, but I tryed both and no luck.

    When I disable the XP partition so the vista one boots, It still says:

    1. Windows XP
    2. Windows XP

    And neither work.

    --I was hoping that there was some file in the vista partition that I could edit where I could textually change those 2 entries. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  4. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    I've just given one. EasyBcd or VistaBoot pro will allow you to edit the addresses. But I think your problem is that you have lost the Vista boot manager on the root partition. This can also be restored with the functions in the two programs mentioned.
    At the moment it looks like your computer is trying to boot from a misworded boot.ini which, of course, cannot see Vista.
    I would suggest that first you reinstate the boot manager with the above. Don't, at this stage, concern yourself with the XP OS. Once you have Vista up and running again, it may be necessary to edit the boot.ini or even move it. Post back if you can get as far as starting Vista and the rest should be easy.
     
  5. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    IVe used both, they both say they change it.
    But when i load up vista partition, nothing changed...
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    Could you explain how you setup the two OS's. You state that you disabled each partition.
    How did you do that? Diod you install each Os with the hard disks, or whatever, connected and running?
    Fwiw: Maybe this can help?
    http://asusg1s.wikidot.com/tips-and-tricks
     
  7. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Well, since my vista Restore CD does not let me have any freedom in installing, I started off with a Vista Restore. I then partitioned the one HardDrive I have into 3 different partitions.
    25GB for Vista
    12GB for XP
    60GB+ for Data

    I then installed XP into the XP partition.

    Vista was the First partition at this point, thus it loaded up first. XP was secondary as to the boot order.

    And at this point I used Paragon Partitioner boot disc to Set active/inactive which ever OS partition I wanted. But that was too much work.

    So I learned about BCD and I used Easy BCD to add XP to the boot manager..
    so then it was like;
    1. Vista
    2. XP
    Vista worked but XP would always say some file is missing or currupt etc...
    So I went on BCD and somehow changed them both to win XP and neither work.
    And now I have tryed to go on XP and use the easybcd try to reinstall the boot loader and change the listings but it dosnt effect the vista loader/partition at all.

    so here I am LOL :(
     
  8. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    for now i just reorder the partitions so XP is first, cuz i cant do anything with vista partition booting first
     
  9. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    Open EasyBcd (in XP)
    Select "manage Bootloader"
    Select "reinstall the bootloader"
    Click "Write MBR"
    Select "Add/Remove Entries"
    Make sure, here , that you have an entry for Vista (under "Add an entry" - Windows - Type is Vista - Give it a name - C:\ drive ((Your Choice??)
    Delete one of your surplus XP entries and make sure the other points to D:\ and is type XP.
    Under "Change settings" select your default boot up OS.and, again, make sure it is pointing to the correct partition.In both cases "Save settings" "Save settings"
    Now exit and see if you are getting anywhere.
     
  10. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks, but Ive tryed that soooooo many times :(

    Im going to delete it, and hope that I can find a different CD for vista... then Reinstall... Does anyone know if the ASUS g1s's Vista Home Premium Key on the back of the computer would work for other vista home premium versions?

    I once remember being able to download vista from Windows website... anyone know the link?
    thanks alot
     
  11. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    Keys, or downloading of software illegally are not permitted to be discussed on this site.
     
  12. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    im not talking about anything illegal, But I remember that one could DL vista from microsoft in the past... maybe that time is up.

    But still, would my key work with another vista?
     
  13. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,457
    If you want to dual boot, you will, for simplicity, need to install XP first, then install vista from within XP as a clean install to a different partition. As you are going for a cleam install, I assume you are formatting- do XP first and it will go fine. trying the other way round is a right PITA unfortunately. :)
     
  14. jhsnowboard

    jhsnowboard Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    actually i have a better idea, thanks for the help guys but i've come to the conclusion that...
    Vista sucks. Time to get the ubuntu/XP duo back.. =D
     
  15. shinybeast

    shinybeast Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    For future reference - If you want to dual boot those two you should install XP first on 1st partition and then install Vista on another partition. Nothing else should be required. The Vista bootloader will put itself on the XP partition and set everything up.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753067

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice