1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual boot windows XP with windows 7 installed

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by harleyf250, Aug 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. harleyf250

    harleyf250 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    I have a brand new Dell XPS 8700 with windows 7 pro installed. I am trying to install windows XP pro to be able to dual boot. I have already succesfuly set up new partition and am having trouble with the XP install. After a little while into the installation I get the following message "file acpi.sys is corrupted" and the installation ends and windows 7 reboots. I have done research online and haven't been able to find a specific solution to this error message. I have been given several links to dual booting instructions and none of them include this specific error message. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    76,363
    I believe the Dell XPS 8700 desktop came with Windows 8/8.1 pre-installed.

    I also believe Windows XP needs to be installed first before installing Windows 7 for a dual boot setup.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. harleyf250

    harleyf250 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Normally windows 8 does come installed, but I found a new one at costco with windows 7...probably the last of its kind. I have also seen many tutorials online about dual booting with windows 7 installed first, but of course, none of them run into this error message. Thanks
     
  5. ttifrum

    ttifrum

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    the other problem you'll probably have is that no doubt the machine is set up in BIOS as AHCI mode, in which case you'll have problems with XP as it needs to run in IDE mode, if you were to change to this it would stop Win 7 from loading.
     
  6. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1131354