Dual booting POST install?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

downwitchyobadself

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2000
Messages
941
Okay, replying to the poll didn't work, but my curiosity is piqued, because you OS types brought it up:

I have a PC with two hard drives on it, basically had one running Win 98, bought a new one, installed Win 2k, just never removed Win 98 from the old. So have two bootable HDDs. I've had tons of problems with multimedia stuff (random sound card junk, Creative SoundBlaster PCI 128, and an ATI Rage Fury 128 which still won't run its DVD player correctly under Win2k using DVD genie, but that's a separate issue perhaps...), and so still boot periodically into Win98. But through my IDE RAID BIOS, which is surely not the most efficient way (switching the master HDD).

Anyone know how I can, given these parameters, get a dual-boot screen and choose each time? Without reformatting either HDD, because that I can do with good ol' Reuel's help.

Thanks in ad-vance. You are all the best.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Try this in 2k

Try this in xp
Specifying the Default Operating System for Startup
If you have more than one operating system on your computer, you can set the operating system that you want to use as the default one for when you start your computer:
Click Start, click Control Panel, and then double-click System.


On the Advanced tab, under Startup and Recovery, click Settings.


Under System startup, in the Default operating system list, click the operating system that you want to start when you turn on or restart your computer.


Select the Display list of operating systems for check box, and then type the number of seconds for which you want the list displayed before the default operating system starts automatically.

To manually edit the boot options file, click Edit. Microsoft strongly recommends that you do not modify the boot options file (Boot.ini), because doing so may render your computer unusable.
 

downwitchyobadself

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2000
Messages
941
...because the list of available startup systems contains only Win2k. Getting a little out of my depth, I would say that this is because the boot sector on HDD1 only knows about Win2k; I did not install it over the top of Win 98. Which has its boot sector on HDD2...

Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
this is what mine looks like with 98 on the c drive, 2k on D, and 2k as default boot

[boot loader]
timeout=15
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
C:\="Microsoft Windows"

You could take a look at your boot.ini file and see if you want to go there

To view it, command prompt
type
attrib -r -s -h boot.ini
This will unhide it, you should find it on the c drive
to reset the parameters
attrib +r +s +h boot.ini

If yours starts with a signature just copy it, otherwise the multi is fine.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
That's a little teckie, need somebody who is booting with your configuration to post a boot.ini. Too bad my 98 is on C rather than d.
 
Joined
May 8, 2000
Messages
311
I used to use System Commander 4. This is a program that will boot your computer into its own self booting program and will give you a select screen of windows or other OS's. I never did it with 2 OS's already installed. Good Luck
 

downwitchyobadself

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 13, 2000
Messages
941
Here are my boot.ini settings:
Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=10
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professionnel" /fastdetect
My Win98 HDD appears as G under Win2k, behind the partitioned master drive and the DVD and burner.

Is this System Commander thang share/freeware? I'd prefer not to use a third-party package if possible...
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Sorry, I've looked and I can't find anything on how to do this with the install on G. I don't want to give you bad info and screw up your boot. I wish I had a system with 98 not installed on the c drive to compared to but I don't.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top