1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dual channel and single channel RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rhyyys, Oct 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rhyyys

    rhyyys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I recently purchased a 1gb stick of ddr400 (non-ecc) dual channel ram. i have a dell 8300 with 2x256mb single channel ram sticks. i tried to replace the 2x256mb sticks(ddr400) with the 1gb stick in DiMM 1, this resulted in beeping of the pc and it not booting. I also tryed the 2 256mb in DiMM 1 and DiMM 3 with the 1gb stick in DiMM 2. Whichever way i try it my pc refuses to read the 1gb stick. Im running windows xp. do i need to purchase a second 1gb stick for DiMM 4?

    thanks in advance this has been bugging me for quite some time!
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,922
    First Name:
    Rob
    You shouldn't need to use pairs, a pair would perform better as it would give you dual channel but its not a requirement.

    I think you're also confused on dual channel. For dual channel operation you need two identical sticks of memory, a single piece of memory cannot be dual channel.

    Have you tried just the 1Gb stick?

    Maybe its faulty or incompatible with your system.
     
  3. Nightfirecat

    Nightfirecat

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    307
    I'd say that incompatability is probably the answer here.
     
  4. GripS

    GripS

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,113
    most likely.
     
  5. rhyyys

    rhyyys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    i did try to put the 1gb stick in on its own and the pc just beeped and wouldnt boot. I am wondering how it could be a compatibility issue as both the old and new sticks are pc3200 ddr400 non ecc non parity.

    thanks for the replys :)
     
  6. GripS

    GripS

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,113
    The IC's (integrated circuits) are probably different between the two brands of ram. These are the small black chips. Some IC's work well with some chipsets(motherboard chip) while others don't. This is why many motherboard manufacturers have a list of compatible ram that is tested to work with their motherboards.
     
  7. rhyyys

    rhyyys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    i checked online with a compatibility ram checker for my pc (dell dimension 8300) and it recommended the exact samsung ram that i purchased. It mentioned that i needed to install in matching pairs for my machine. Would this explain why when i inserted the 1gb stick of ram on its own the computer didnt recognize it? do i need to purchase another 1gb stick of ram for the pc to recognize it?
    i have little knowledge in computer hardware:(
    thanks again
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,922
    First Name:
    Rob
    If you install just a single piece of the original 256MB memory, does the computer work? If so then it does not need to be installed in pairs.

    Not all PC3200 is the same, each company uses different methods of making IC's and the modules. Samsung also produces may types of chips. That doesn't even take into account the the memory could just be faulty.
     
  9. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Most important part of the match is density. My guess is your new ram is double sided with chips and the other two are single sided and that is why they do not work...even if I am wrong on single and double, the density has to be the issue. BTW Samsung is not an original ram maker and I would bet that every stick is different...I never saw a configurator at their site and I thought that was the reason as there could be no real guaranty.
     
  10. rhyyys

    rhyyys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Your exactly right, thanks alot:D . I got some help from a manufacturer finally and your correct. I had no idea about low and high density untill now. From now on i wont buy samsung after ur advice. thanks again
     
  11. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    You are welcome, thanks for come back.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/635019

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice