1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual Channel Memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Newbie07, Nov 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Newbie07

    Newbie07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Dual Channel Memory - Using DDR400(PC3200) Memory Modules

    Channel A
    DIMM 0
    DIMM 1

    Channel B
    DIMM 0
    DIMM 1

    CHANNEL A DIMM 0 + CHANNEL B DIMM 0 = 6.4 GB/s transfer rate
    (3.2 GB/s) (3.2 GB/s)

    CHANNEL A DIMM 1 + CHANNEL B DIMM 1 = 6.4 GB/s transfer rate
    (3.2 GB/s) (3.2 GB/s)

    6.4 GB/s + 6.4 GB/s = 12.8 GB/s accumulated transfer rate

    Does this sound right? I am confused about the concept of Dual Channel. I read many detailed articles on Dual Channel DDR based memory, but am slighty side-tracked. One DDR400 memory module on channel A in position 0, and one DDR400 memory module on channel B in position 0 take their individual transfer rates of 3.2 GB/s and added together = 6.4 GB/s, correct? Vice versa for Channel A and B position 1. Maybe someone can lend me a URL with a more detailed description? This is one of the articles I have reviewed.


    http://www.kingston.com/newtech/MKF_520DDRwhitepaper.pdf

    Thanks for the advice in advance.
     
  2. Randolf34

    Randolf34 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    341
  3. Newbie07

    Newbie07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    It might if it wasn't a dead link. ;[
     
  4. Randolf34

    Randolf34 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    it was just accessed here. try pasting it on your browser. that should get you there.
     
  5. Rukee

    Rukee Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    961
    Dual channel memory simply means the CPU reads and writes to two sticks at time through two pipelines between the CPU and the memory, compared to a single pipeline on single channel systems. There is nothing special about the memory itself except that they come in matching sticks for compatibility with each other.
     
  6. Newbie07

    Newbie07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks for the response Rukee, but I am fully aware of that. What I am trying to understand, in a simplified explanation, is whether you need 2 memory modules to acquire the accumulated transfer rate. For example. If you have 2 sticks of DDR400(PC3200) memory, one on channel A and one on channel B, will they total at 6.4GB/s because they both run individual transfer rates of 3.2GB/s? Or do they run at the normal 3.2GB/s, and you need the remaining two empty DIMM slots housing DDR400(PC3200) memory modules for it to total at 6.4GB/s? If I am right, having four DDR400(PC3200) memory modules running dual channel, your total transfer rate would max out at 12.8GB/s.

    Mathematical Example
    (3.2GB/s + 3.2GB/s = First channel A&B pair total transfer rate)
    (3.2GB/s + 3.2GB/s = Second channel A&B pair total transfer rate)
    (6.4GB/s + 6.4GB/s = total accumulation of 12.8GB/s transfer rate --with all four DIMM slots housing DDR400(PC3200) memory modules--)

    I know not many people will be able to answer this, but to who answers this question, great appreciation!
     
  7. Randolf34

    Randolf34 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    you still get past the 6.4gb due to only two channels. the increase of memory means
    an increase in capacity for active ram.
     
  8. Rukee

    Rukee Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    961
    yes, theoretically two sticks, 1 each in the correct slots will do over 6.4GB/s in dual channel whereas 3.2 is about it for single channel.
    This can be verified with the Sandra bandwidth benchmark.
    4 full slots will force the 2T command rate and drop the memory speed from 400 to 333(I think) this is a limitation of the CPU`s memory controller, not the motherboard or memory sticks. That`s why it`s always best to run 2 sticks instead of 4.
     
  9. Newbie07

    Newbie07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    So you only need two memory modules for the data rate to double? 2 DDR400(PC3200) memory modules would run at 6.4GB/s? So 4 DDR400(PC3200) memory modules would run a grand total of 12.8GB/s, right? (6.4 + 6.4). And likewise for all other types of RAM. e.g.)
    2 DDR333(2700) would run at 5.4GB/s, and 4 DDR333(PC2700) memory modules would accumulate a total of 10.8GB/s?
     
  10. Rukee

    Rukee Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    961
    Yes you need just two sticks for dual channel and no, 6.4 is the limit of the CPUs memory controller without overclocking. Here is a screenshot of some of the Sandra benchs, the memory bandwidth is circled. This is with the system in my sig.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,606
    Almost, except 400Mhz has a bandwidth of only 3.2GB/s - hence the spec name of PC3200. PC2700 has a max bandwidth of 2.7GB/s.
     
  12. Newbie07

    Newbie07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    So even with 4 DDR400(PC3200), you'll still max out at 6.4GB/s instead of 12.8GB/s? So I'd guess the two memory modules being housed in DIMM 0 of CHANNEL A and CHANNEL B determines the total sum of memory transfer rate, and the rest is just added memory storage? Correct?
     
  13. Randolf34

    Randolf34 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    capacity takes the load of the cpu. the more capacity results in faster cpu rates due
    to having less demand placed on cpu time. data is proceesed smoother with less of a
    bottleneck at the cpu end. you see this with cad as well as other large programs.
     
  14. Rukee

    Rukee Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    961
    that`s not true, more RAM adds to CPU demands and it can be proved with a couple diffrent sized kits, it`s harder to overclock with a 2gig kit then with a 1 gig kit. The guys at the OCZ forums can verify that.
     
  15. Newbie07

    Newbie07 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks for all of the valuable input, but one of my questions has not been answered or I am just not understanding the format of your answer. If you have a 4 DIMM Dual Channel memory system, will the max transfer rate be calculated by 2 memory modules -in this case DDR400(PC3200)- (3.2GB/s and 3.2GB/s = 6.4GB/s) and any other memory modules you install will only add more capacity and not affect the transfer rate? Correct? Because from what I understand, the memory controller will recognize the transfer rate of 6.4GB/s and not 12.8GB/s because it only calculates the total transfer rate though the memory modules inhabiting DIMM 0 of CHANNEL A AND CHANNEL B.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/421069