1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual Core????

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Micro Soft Lad, Jan 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Micro Soft Lad

    Micro Soft Lad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Hello,

    I've just bought an Intel 2140 1.6Ghz Dual Core CPU to fit into a Gigabyte 8i865GME - 775 - RH motherboard and I'm not sure all is well. I've never used Dual Core before and I'm not sure that the motherboard supports Dual Core 1, it states it supports Dual Core 2 from this I assumed that it also supports Dual Core 1. When booting up the screen displays "Main Processor : Genuine Intel (r) CPU 2140 @ 1.60 Ghz (200x8)".

    Does this mean that the motherboard is only detecting a single core CPU or is this normal for Dual Core. The motherboard manual isn't too helpful as it's a multi motherboard support job that has options that aren't in my BIOS. I've contacted Gigabyte support but haven't heard anything back yet.

    I'm running Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks :)
     
  2. Waldo_II

    Waldo_II

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    339
    Well, I'm not familiar with Gigabyte boards or their BIOSs, but you can check to see if you are using both cores by logging into Windows and launching the task manager (Ctrl+Alt+Delete). From there, go to the performance tab. If you see three graphs, then you are OK- there should be two on the top, one on the bottom.
     
  3. Micro Soft Lad

    Micro Soft Lad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Hello Waldo II,

    Thanks for the tip ;)

    I'm beginning to think the motherboard doesn't support Dual Core 1 and I'll have to go back the Celeron single core. Would you happen to know if a Celeron single core 3.2Ghz running at 533 FSB would run faster than a Dual Core running at 1.6 at 800Mhz as the Dual Core does work.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Elf-stone

    Elf-stone

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    531
  5. Micro Soft Lad

    Micro Soft Lad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Hello Elf Stone,

    Thanks for the response and the link, I appreciate it.

    Cheers and a Happy New Year to your good self. :D
     
  6. Waldo_II

    Waldo_II

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    339
    The Core 2 Duo will be faster than the Celeron. A lot of people think that the clock speed of a chip (the number of GHz) represents the speed of the chip. This is just plain not true. There are many, many other factors that determine the speed of a chip- cache sizes, FSB, the method it interacts with RAM, the speed at which it interacts with RAM, how fast the caches are, 32-bit versus 64-bit, etc. The Core 2 Duo chips are far more advanced than Celeron chips. Celerons have always been crap.

    Also, a lot of people think that in dual-core chips, you can multiply the clock speed by the number of cores to get the effective speed. This too is false. Dual-core chips can handle two operations at once because they have two cores- older, single core chips can only handle one. So, if you are running two programs at once on a dual-core rig, then both will run at their fastest without slowing down. If you ran two programs on a single-core rig, then they would both slow down because they are both sharing the same core.
     
  7. Micro Soft Lad

    Micro Soft Lad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Hello Waldo,

    Thanks for the response. I'm not sure I made myself clear with my last post, The Dual Core 1 not Core 2 Duo it's a 2140 (first generation) isn't fully supported by the motherboard and will only use a single core ie 1 1.6Ghz with 1MB of L2 Cache running at 800Mhz, does your kind response still apply if the Celeron would run at 533FSB with 512k L2 Cache? I guess I'm just being swayed by the basic numbers (3.2 v 1.6) :confused:
     
  8. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    Where do you see the dual core 2140 being supported?
     
  9. Elf-stone

    Elf-stone

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    531
    You are right, of course win2kpro. When I looked at the page it was not full-screen and I did not see the N/A. I thought it was just a list of supported CPUs.
    Very sorry about that. :eek:
     
  10. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    Elf, it's not your fault, these Taiwan manufacturers have a screwy way of listing supported processors. I have no idea why they even bother with listing non supported processors on a supported processor list. They've been around Microsoft too long, as in press START to SHUT DOWN. :rolleyes:
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/666902