1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual Monitor issue (S-Vid)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tech13, Jun 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tech13

tech13 Thread Starter

I am a computer technician for a fortune 15 company. I have a 62 inch DLP television I decided I would like to use as a monitor to view videos on, rather than streaming it through a server to my ps3 or xbox 360. I have an Nvidia Geforce 7800 GT 256mb graphics card PCI-e. I thought that my television had PC-IN ports so I could use a VGA cable and have no issues, but it turns out I only have S-Vid in so that is what I am using. I know S-vid has a MAX resolution of 480i on my TV and a max of 1024x768 on my vid card. Now, the 480i is fine on my TV, its just that I need my computer to output a higher resolution on my video card to my television, preferably 1280x1024. just so that the text is sharper on my 62 inch. I was thinking there may be a hacked driver for my card to use on guru3d but was unsuccessfull in looking. Would there be any way to get a higher resolution on my 62 inch television without having to purchase component HD cables?

- Yours truly, Tech13

2. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

As far as I know, if you stick with S-Video you stick with that resolution.

3. tech13

tech13 Thread Starter

someone posted, i was excited, but your response has let me down :(... i know im stuck at 480i on my 62 inch, but i should be able to get some hacked driver to let it go higher output for resolution to make it a bit sharper looking, if anything, a higher res would just make junk smaller on my tv... should be some hacked driver or program to force it to higher res

4. dking63

dking63