1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual monitor with radeon??

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Mrt0mjones, Dec 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Radeon 9000, i have a primary monitor in the monitor spot, and a VGA cable attached to the card as well.

    If i go into display, i can activate the second monitor (VGA) , and it will work just fine.

    I want the VGA to boot up as the primary monitor.

    I have tried
    Disconnecting the regular monitor during boot
    Changing around a little bit of bio's (compaq bios suck)
    Updating drivers.

    Is there anyone to just swap the display settings (making the vga port primary) and forcing it to save as the default???
     
  2. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i guess the registry isnt saving???
     
  3. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,750
    Do you have a DVI > VGA adapter ??
     
  4. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    flip the cables if one isn't dvi.

    fwiw:
    i've got an older g400 matrox dual head and connected the cables to the lcd for primary computer stuff and the crt only for email.
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,750
    I looked up the Radeon 9000 .. It has one DVI output.
    From past experiences .. The DVI will be the primary.
    I assume both monitors can play VGA.

    Swapping cables is why I asked about a DVI > VGA adapter.
    That's what I had to do on my older computer.

    BTW ... Welcome to the TSG forum.
     
  6. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    it has a vga and a dvi output.

    i have an adapter also, that i just tried, the image is completely distorted and such, i think i may get another adapter to see if it helps at all?

    how come the VGA on the card cannot be primary.
     
  7. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    One is a DVI cable and one is a VGA (video out, not the analog)
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,750
    Good question ???

    What kind of Distortion ??? .. Did you check your display settings ??
    What size and type are your monitors ??
     
  9. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    all i want is for this 7"TFT color monitor to be the primary.

    that is all, i'm trying omega drivers now :/
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,750
    Some time ago, I had the same problem.
    I think you'll have to run the TFT from the DVI.
    If the TFT doesn't have a DVI input ... use the adapter.

    I was using a different video card, and the Bios or the drivers weren't the answer.
    After poking around a while .. I gave up and used the DVI > VGA adapter
     
  11. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    yea, i'm retarded.

    i didnt mean DVI

    i meant the VIDEO out, i guess thats composite??

    i'd like to make the VIDEO out the primary during boot.
     
  12. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i just want my display settings to save after the reboot....

    :(:eek:
     
  13. Mrt0mjones

    Mrt0mjones Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/526154

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice