1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dual Monitors WIn 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by cybernia_nyc, Feb 11, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cybernia_nyc

    cybernia_nyc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    I have a friend who wants me to set up a dual monitor system like he has at work and I'm confused. He has an HP Win 7 machine and the graphics card has a regular vga port and one that according to the specs says is a DVI-D.

    I went to pick up a VGA to DVI-D adapter for the second monitor and the guy said that it wasn't possible to do that without a "converter box." That doesn't sound right. Help?


    Thanks,

    Bernie
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,358
    There are basically two issues to consider the first is - will the card or the integrated graphics - whichever it is - support TWO monitors
    see here please
    http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/221/~/what-is-the-difference-between-dvi-i-and-dvi-d%3F


    Although yours may not be Nvidia the principle is the same


    So on that link
    Some NVIDIA based graphics cards will look similar to Figure 2 which features a DVI-D connector as well as a VGA connector. These cards generally will only support a single display at a time, not dual monitors.


    I presume the monitor in question for which you went to buy the adapter - does not have a DVI connection - on the MONITOR


    Therefore if that is the case - you need to be aware that the connector I think you are talking about is the simple male DVI-D to female VGA
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/DVI-D-Male-Female-Converter-Adapter/dp/B009C6LMT6


    scroll down on that link and you will see what I mean

    note that these products will not convert a digital signal into an analogue one or vice versa


    See here
    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/monitor3.htm




    so in simple terms - VGA is analogue and DVI-D is digital only
    If your monitor has only a VGA connection - the salesman is quite correct - it will not work
    THAT is with the presumption that the port on the graphics is DVI-D and not DVI-I as the latter carries both analogue and digital


    Presuming you can sort that out here is how to proceed
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows7/work-and-play-better-with-multiple-monitors


    Finally if the problem is as I think it may be you do indeed need the convertor


    http://www.ebuyer.com/513562-starte...ium=products&gclid=CLqds4Kp28MCFQHKtAodMBYAuQ


    or a cheaper one here

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-DVI-D...DVI2VGA-Connector-for-PC-Laptop-/191505061151

    HOWEVER a note of caution
    Check first that the graphics can support two monitors - otherwise you will waste money on the convertor
     
  3. cybernia_nyc

    cybernia_nyc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Thanks! I wasn't aware so much was involved. :( The way I've been reading things was that you could just hook up two monitors with no mention of the requirements you noted.

    I guess if the monitor didn't come with a DVI cable I'll need the converter.

    Although the specs do say this: DVI-D and VGA video ports support independent dual displays (It's an Intel card)

    I guess this needs more investigating to make sure

    Thanks again.

    Bernie
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,944
    you shouldn't need a converter box. If that is a factory vid card with VGA and DVI, make sure you purchase the correct adaptor for DVI and hook up a second monitor. Many people use that setup in businesses, it's not difficult to set up.

    As Macboatmaster stated, if the monitor doesn't have a dvi port, you can just buy an adaptor to go from dvi to vga.
     
  5. cybernia_nyc

    cybernia_nyc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Thanks. I like that answer. :) Yes, it is a factory card with both. The port on the machine is a DVI-D, so you are saying all I need is a VGA to DVI-D adapter and not the converter? Just double checking. In what scenario would I need the converter?

    Thanks,

    Bernie
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,944
    it's cheaper than a conversion box, and will most likely work. What you need looks like this.[​IMG] Just make sure you get the correct one, as there are a few variations. You will need to look at both ends to make sure it is compatible.
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,358
    What is the make and model of the monitor that is going to be connected to the DVI-D port on the computer


    If that monitor ONLY has a VGA connection then it is analogue monitor - it may still be flat screen and not the old CRT - cathode ray tube - the very bulky heavy one.


    It is very unusual for me to differ with my good colleague Valis.



    I wish to stress that I MAY BE WRONG - however it is my understanding that DVI-D sends only a digital signal
    whereas DVI-I can send either


    The connector adapter you are talking about is I think this - only an example
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812119261


    If you read the reviews - on the third one down you will see the manufacturers response
    which is
    You need to check the motherboard spec - but I suspect that you will find that the VGA port transmits analogue and the DVI-D Digital.

    If I am right then as I said in my first reply - that adapter plug - will not convert the signal.

    HOWEVER - I stress again I may be wrong and for the cost of the adapter - perhaps the easiest way is to try it.
     
  8. cybernia_nyc

    cybernia_nyc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Lenovo LS1922wA
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,358
    The video input on that monitor is analogue only

    Here is the user manual
    http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/pro...2-wide-18-5-inch-lcd-monitor/?tabName=Manuals

    http://download.lenovo.com/pccbbs/visuals/ls1922_usereng.pdf

    The next question is - what is make and full model of the motherboard


    However if the connector is definitely DVI-D then whilst I would like to check the board specs to be sure - this is the situation you face IMHO


    [​IMG]

    A passive DVI-to-VGA adapter. This adapter will NOT work with a DVI-D output. It requires a DVI-I or DVI-A output to get the analog signal to a VGA input (even if the adapter looks like a DVI-D). A more expensive active adapter (or converter) is required to connect DVI-D to VGA.
     
  10. cybernia_nyc

    cybernia_nyc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    The motherboard? I have no clue
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,358
    Where did you obtain this from please
    Although the specs do say this: DVI-D and VGA video ports support independent dual displays (It's an Intel card)
     
  12. cybernia_nyc

    cybernia_nyc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    From the HP Quick Specs sheet. It's an HP 3500
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,358
    cheers
    please post any additional model spec after the 3500
     
  14. cybernia_nyc

    cybernia_nyc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    173
  15. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,358
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Dual Monitors
  1. Persivoje
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    214
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1142904

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice